Pad See Ew #2

IMG_0456

I have made several versions of Pad See Ew, otherwise known as my husband’s favorite Thai dish. 🙂 I have never been able to replicate the sauce from his tasty take-out version. Months ago, when I saw this version from Nell’s I Need a Feed on Fiesta Friday, I knew that I had to try it. When I received 6 baby bok choy in my CSA box, I knew it was finally time! (My next box had 3 additional bok choy which I sautéed and added to the leftovers- great timing!)

The most exciting thing about making this dish – besides eating it, of course- is that I am able to purchase fresh wide rice noodles from one of our local Oriental Grocery stores. They are brought in fresh from Queens several times a week. JUST like the noodles from the Thai restaurant! The problem is that the packaging doesn’t have any cooking instructions. I tore the large noodle(s) into pieces and soaked in them in boiling water for 5 min– WAY too long! When mixed into the finished dish, the noodles broke down into small pieces. Next time I would soak them 1-2 minutes, or maybe just add them to the dish as is!?! (I modified the instructions below.)

The wonderful news is that this sauce was spot on. Loaded with salty-sweetness. My husband loved it! 🙂 Thanks, Nell!

Serves: 4 to 6

  • meat from 1/2 of a rotisserie chicken, shredded into large pieces
  • 2- 12 oz packages fresh wide rice noodles, torn into large pieces (at room temperature)
  • 2 T peanut oil
  • 6 baby bok choy, leaves sliced into 2-inch ribbons, stems cut into 1/2-inch pieces (plus more, to taste)
  • 8 large cloves of garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup dark soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 4 eggs, lightly beaten
  1. Prepare the Ingredients: Shred the chicken meat. Cut and wash the bok choy. Break up the rice noodles. Lightly beat the eggs.
  2. Make the Sauce: Combine the soy sauces in a measuring cup; add the sugar and garlic. Set aside.
  3. Prepare the Noodles: Place torn noodle pieces into a pot of boiling water (off the heat). Let sit for 1 minute, or until pliable. (*Alternatively, consider adding the torn noodle pieces to the dish without soaking.*)
  4. Heat large skillet or wok over medium-high heat. Add the peanut oil. Add the bok choy stems and sauté for 2 minutes, or until tender. Add the leaves and cook for an additional minute, or until wilted.
  5. Add the chicken to the pan with noodles and sauce; stir until heated through.
  6. Make a well in center of the noodle mixture and add the egg. Cook for 2 minutes, or until the egg starts to set. Stir the bits of cooked egg through the dish; serve.

IMG_0464

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

13 responses to “Pad See Ew #2

  1. Yum! Pad see ew is one of my favorite Thai dishes to order. I have never tried making it because I always manage to overcook noodles for similar dishes like pad thai, but perhaps I will have better luck if I soak it for less time. The color looks dark and flavorful.

    • This was the best version I have tried thus far… and I have tried quite a few! I have been apprehensive to add so much sugar in the past- but I suppose it was necessary to achieve the delicious result! 🙂

  2. This looks delicious! And without using a host of exotic ingredients either. I seem to remember soaking rice noodles in cold water which helps soften them without turning them to mush.

  3. I am so delighted to hear you loved it as much as we did! And your photography is stunning! I am sitting here drooling over this, wishing I could have a nice big bowl for my lunch! 😀

  4. What a beautiful dish! I’m a bit jealous of your noodles!

  5. I love pad see ew! Never made it myself before though – definitely a recipe I need to try!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,027 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
