Flourless Chocolate Cookies

IMG_0515

I have a few friends on a gluten-free diet. Chocolate Soufflรฉ Cake is really my go-to gluten-free dessert, but I feel the need to expand my horizons. I have had a couple of failures in the past- most memorably a gluten-free berry clafoutis. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Happy to say that these cookies were a success! They were crisp on the outside and sweet, chocolatey, chewy, and tender on the inside- difficult to believe that they were flourless. We ate them as is, but they would be wonderful with a bowl of ice cream too- and still gluten-free. This recipe was adapted from Joie de Vivre. Delicious!

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp coarse salt
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (on convection). Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together powdered sugar, cocoa powder, cornstarch, and salt until well blended. Add in the egg whites, egg, and vanilla extract; mix until well combined.
  3. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  4. Drop heaping full tablespoons (I used a large cookie scoop) onto the prepared baking sheets, spacing each cookie 2 inches apart.
  5. Bake for 12ย minutes, until cookies are puffed and crackled, rotating sheets once during the baking.
  6. Remove from oven and allow to cool on baking sheets for 10 minutes before transferring them to wire racks to cool completely. Store in an air tight container at room temperature.

IMG_0526

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

42 responses to “Flourless Chocolate Cookies

  1. These look so delicious – I love the rich color! Yum!

  2. Flourless cookies! That looks like a big challenge ! Always good to have option for those on a gluten-free diet :).

  3. These look Ahmazing Josette! I love your “one year ago” post links at the bottom :).

  4. The crinkle tops of these cookies remind me of brownies, so I can only imagine how chewy these delicious cookies are -yum!

  5. These look like a brownie…yum!

  6. Oh Josette! I think your friend was very happy to have the chance to eat these cookies…. I bet the texture was incredible!

  7. Wow.. Such a lovely post.. Cookies looks absolutely stunning.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Jen

    Thanks!! I can’t wait to try this recipe!!

  9. I have never made cookies without flour, but would like to try it sometimeโ€“I need to keep these in mind. They look so good!

  10. I’ll be trying these for sure – they look wonderful. And so chocolate-y!

  11. These cookies were chewy and delicious. Even for this gluten eater!

  12. My GF friends would love these! Must put them on the list!

  13. toko tommee tippee

    how wonderful……..

  14. These look amazing! My sister would die — they’re her favorite!

  15. sara

    even my husband loved them and he’s very picky when it comes to gf and flourless recipes

  16. sarithakumbakkara

    Simply superb dear!

  17. Josette this just look scrumptious, I must try them for sure!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. can I replace the sugar with splenda since I”m a diabetic?

  19. Karen

    Does it have to be a convection oven?

  20. Pingback: Flourless Chocolate Cookies | thebrookcook | Gluten Free, Bohemian Style

  21. These look so delicious!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Pingback: Flourless Chocolate Cookies - Chocolate Recipes R Us

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,014 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
