Candy Corn Sugar Cookies

IMG_0769

It can be so upsetting to bake for classrooms of kids…. I have learned my lesson the hard way. Laboring over homemade birthday cupcakes with cute decorations to bring in for preschool birthday celebrations, only to see kids lick off the frosting and throw them in the garbage… take one bite and throw them in the garbage…. You get the idea.

Both of my kids (now in 2nd & 4th grade) had a Halloween celebration at school this year where parents were asked to volunteer to help or bring in treats or supplies. I can’t help myself! I had to volunteer to bake. πŸ™‚ Our first plan was to make bat sugar cookies. Then I imagined rolling, cutting, chilling, baking, and decorating 60 bats and watching kids throw them out. Nope. When I saw these festive bite-sized sugar cookies I knew that they were a much better choice. Cute and quick. My kids also helped make them by rolling the dough into balls, sprinkling the sanding sugar, and adding the candy corns. This recipe was adapted from Martha Stewart Living Special Issues.

My son and daughter each brought 30 sugar and 30 chocolate-sugar cookies to school to celebrate. Perfect! I had a couple leftover to bring to Fiesta FridayΒ #40 this week too! Happy Halloween! πŸ™‚

IMG_0871

Yield: 64 bite-sized cookies

  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter, 1 stick, very soft
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, (spooned and leveled)
  • orange sanding sugar
  • About 64 candy corns (I used Brach’s)

Note: To make the chocolate variation: Reduce the amount of all-purpose flour to 1 cup. Add 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder along with the flour in step 3.

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (convection). Place butter and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer; beat until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
  2. Beat in egg yolks, vanilla, baking powder, and salt.
  3. Add flour (and cocoa if making the chocolate version), and mix until a dough forms.
  4. Scoop out level teaspoons of dough (I used the teaspoon side of my melon baller & scooped it out with a tiny condiment spoon), and roll into balls. Chill dough balls for about 10 minutes prior to baking.
  5. Place balls on 3 parchment-lined baking sheets, 2 inches apart. Sprinkle with orange sanding sugar.
  6. Bake until edges are firm and cookies are dry to the touch (do not let cookies color), 9 to 10 minutes on convection, or up to 12 minutes in a standard oven.
  7. Remove from oven; gently press a candy corn into center of each cookie (surface of cookies may crack slightly). Cool on sheets 1 minute; transfer to a rack to cool completely.

IMG_0765

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

42 responses to “Candy Corn Sugar Cookies

  1. My favorite candy! These look so amazing – I want to make them today!

  2. Haha, I know what you mean about baking for a kid’s party/school treat only to find out kids just love the frosting and discard the others out. Baking these for your kids is a smart choice and they are so adorable. πŸ˜€ Thanks for bringing these so we also could have our share. πŸ˜€ Happy FF to you.

  3. Perfect for little hands! I love baking and did sugar cookies with a 4 year old. Great fun but was exhausted when we finished! πŸ™‚

  4. that would make a lot of children happy x

  5. Mari Allen

    The candy corn!! πŸ™‚

    Mari Allenc 415.730.1522 h 415.381.4184

    Date: Fri, 31 Oct 2014 10:54:55 +0000 To: allenmari@hotmail.com

  6. How lovely, there’s nothing like baking with little ones eh? I hope you and your children have a Happy Halloween πŸ™‚

  7. These are so cute! Have a happy halloween!

  8. This is a perfect idea! Save all of your hard work and creativity for those who truly appreciate it! Like us at FF! πŸ˜€

  9. skd

    They look so cute and delicious πŸ™‚

  10. These cookies are so brilliant Josette! Love the 2 versions! So clever yet easy πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing!

  11. These look so cute! I’ve never tried candy corn before but see it all the time!

  12. You definitely had a smart idea, I’m sure you made all the kids very happy! Thanks for sharing the leftovers with us at FF, it’s very much appreciated!

  13. Pingback: Loaded Pumpkin Waffles | Fiesta Friday #40 | The Novice Gardener

  14. Beautiful cookies. I cook for middle and high school kids mostly. They tend to devoir everything.

  15. Candy corn – my favorite Halloween candy. I never buy it as I would eat the whole bag and I am afraid if I made your cookies there would be some candy corn missing on a lot of cookies πŸ™‚

  16. I can see why the children would go for these. Will remember this design for when little grandson is old enough to enjoy them.

  17. Sandhya

    They are the cutest cookies. Love them! Thanks for sharing!

  18. Hi, I am a cookie. Lover and keep. On looking for new and unusual ones.. These looks stunning.. πŸ™‚

  19. Perfect treat for kids πŸ™‚ And my kid will gobble them for breakfast, lunch and dinner πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€ Perfect looking cookies.

  20. These are adorable! I love how simple they are to make, but so festive as well. Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend!

  21. My kids would love these !! πŸ™‚ I might also eat a few, haha

    Michael
    http://instagram.com/michaelswoodcraft

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 919 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
