Butternut Squash Basmati Rice

IMG_0667

I loved the idea of cooking Indian-spiced rice with butternut squash. Fabulous! My desire to make this side dish with my small CSA butternut squash inspired an entire meal. A WONDERFUL meal! Yay! I know that I will make this all of the time now- such lovely color. This dish is from Food and Wine, contributed by Asha Gomez. I didn’t change a thing. 🙂 We ate it with sautéed greens and Indian Spiced Chicken.

  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon whole cumin seeds
  • 1 teaspoon mustard seeds
  • 1 cup white basmati rice
  • 3/4 pound peeled butternut squash, cut into 1/4-inch dice (2 cups)
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 teaspoons coarse salt
  1. In a medium saucepan, melt the butter. Add the cumin and mustard seeds and cook over high heat until the mustard seeds begin to pop, about 30 seconds.
  2. Add the rice and diced squash and stir to coat with the butter.
  3. Add the water and salt and bring to a boil. Cover and cook over very low heat until the squash is tender and the water is completely absorbed, about 15 minutes.
  4. Remove from the heat and let the rice stand, covered, for 5 minutes. Fluff the rice with a fork and serve right away.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

11 responses to “Butternut Squash Basmati Rice

  1. Hmmmm adding butter it squash to basmati sounds interesting :). Love this combo!

  2. That is a pretty platter 🙂 interesting and innovative combo !

  3. That’s a novel idea! Looks good with the curry, a perfect Indian meal. 🙂

  4. Really nice I too love the idea of butternut squash and basmati rice. The whole meal is great

  5. I’ve never mixed squash with rice. This is an interesting idea. Makes it healthy too!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
