Caramelized Onion Dip

IMG_1507

My kids have been taking piano lessons for a few years. Starting in October, they study a lot of Christmas music in preparation for a Christmas performance for their grandparents. This year, a couple of my friends enrolled their kids in lessons with the same piano teacher. My kids and their friends performed in a Christmas concert at our house for all of the parents- and each other!- followed by a reception. It was fabulous!!

I first saw this recipe on Feasting with Friends. It was perfect for the occasion. We also served wine, lemonade, double cream brie with sourdough baguette slices, and mini red velvet cupcakes. My friends brought tasty appetizers as well. I loved it- I hope it becomes an annual tradition. We ate the onion dip with kettle chips and crudités. This recipe was adapted from Alton Brown, via foodnetwork.com. It is super easy and delicious- it would be perfect for the Superbowl as well!

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cups diced yellow or sweet onions
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1 1/2 cups sour cream
  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  1. In a saute pan over medium heat add oil, heat and add onions and salt. Cook the onions until they are caramelized, about 20 minutes.
  2. Remove from heat and set aside to cool. Mix the rest of the ingredients, and then add the cooled onions.
  3. Refrigerate and stir again before serving.

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

16 responses to “Caramelized Onion Dip

  1. Your dip looks great, Josette! Thanks for the mention and link-up, too. 🙂
    Your Christmas concert with friends sounds like a wonderful evening at home… that’s the kind of thing that memories are made of… I bet the kids loved it as much as the adults!

  2. Kelly

    Good dip and the little cupcakes were awesome too. Banking on annual tradition😃!

  3. Love the dip Josette! I remember it from the time Nancy posted it. Yours have come out perfect :). Must be fun concert !

  4. Yummy dip, I love onion dip with exactly those chips. I could eat a whole bowl I think.

  5. Hi Josette this onion dip looks so yummy! It looks like a great dip to make ahead of time.

  6. This version look fantastic! I love your cute little bowls! 🙂

  7. This looks great! And thank you for not using Lipton’s soup mix! (Although it wouldn’t be much of a recipe!)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 978 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
