Panko-Crusted Mustard Salmon

IMG_2190

There is just not enough time in the day. This is my complaint- almost every day…. When I was expressing this to one of my good friends the other day, she said, “Why don’t you just make the Ina Garten salmon for dinner? It’s so easy and my kids gobble it up!” Well, needless to say, a couple of days later, I was short on time after running our kids to all of their extra-curricular activities. I was so happy to make this salmon- It was just as quick, easy, and tasty as had been promised too! 🙂

This recipe was adapted from Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa How Easy is That?, via food network.com. We ate it with roasted asparagus and potatoes on the side (easily roasted in the same oven!!). Delicious!

  • 2/3 cup panko (Japanese dried bread flakes)
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
  • grated zest from 1 lemon
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons good olive oil
  • 2 pound salmon fillet
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • Lemon wedges, for serving, optional
  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees (on convection roast).
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the panko, parsley, lemon zest, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper. Drizzle with the olive oil and stir until the crumbs are evenly coated. Set aside.
  3. Place the salmon fillet on a parchment-lined rimmed baking sheet. Generously brush the top of the fillet with mustard and then sprinkle generously with salt and pepper. Press the panko mixture thickly on top of the mustard-coated salmon. The mustard will help the panko adhere.
  4. Roast for 10 minutes, or until the salmon is almost cooked and the panko is browned. Remove from the oven, cover with aluminum foil, and allow to rest for 5 to 10 minutes. Serve the salmon hot or at room temperature with lemon wedges, if desired.

IMG_2180

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

20 responses to “Panko-Crusted Mustard Salmon

  1. Delicious, we had salmon last night for dinner too. Love all the ingredients, and of course panko crumbs make everything that much more crunchy! Wonderful!

  2. Mari Allen

    We make this ALL the time!!!

    How’s the snow?

    Mari Allenc 415.730.1522 h 415.381.4184

    Date: Wed, 28 Jan 2015 14:35:23 +0000 To: allenmari@hotmail.com

    • I am going to make it ALL the time too!! We got about 1 1/2 feet of snow- 2 days off of school!! Lots of shoveling & sledding & hot chocolate 🙂
      Is it too late to support the Marin Crew Team? (I just found the letter on my desk…- sorry!!)

  3. Looks delicious!! Hope all is well with you and the snow that you got.

  4. I agree with you that there is just not enough time in a day to get everything done (or work takes up too much time in a day) Anyways, looking at your pictures, makes me wish i was at your house for dinner, yum and thanks for sharing:)

  5. I’m not a huge fish fan, but this looks outstanding! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. This does look good! I don’t think I’ve ever made anything from Ina Garten that didn’t turn out well!

  7. I rarely make salmon at home… this simple recipe makes me wonder why… it looks so delicious and I’m all in for a simple preparation! Lovely!

    • Thanks, Nancy 🙂 I rarely make it too! For a while we ate salmon VERY often (because you are “supposed” to…) and really got tired of it. This was delicious & I’m going to put it back on the rotation!

  8. Mmm I do like salmon, make it pretty often! Have you tried to add some cheese (Parmesan or Gruyere) to the topping? My mouth is watering now, when I’m thinking about this dish! 😀

  9. This whole plate looks so tasty, I love asparagus and this salmon looks so good with it. I will give this a go soon!

  10. jessicanadelson

    Glad you liked it! We eat this dish once a week!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
