Fudgy Brownie Cake

Brownies are often considered to be cookies- but isn’t it fun to consider them as a cake?!? Fudgy or cakey (I love it all!!) they are one of my absolute favorite desserts- especially warm with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream on the side. πŸ™‚ This cake was made with Lindt 70% cacao dark chocolate- AMAZING rich flavor. Super moist and fudgy too. This recipe is from Martha Stewart Living. I adapted the time to bake in a convection oven.

I’m bringing this snow day comfort food to share with my friends at Angie of The Novice Gardener’s First Fiesta Friday Anniversary Celebration (Part 2). Enjoy!!

IMG_2277

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, cut into large pieces, plus more for pan
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour, plus more for pan
  • 6 ounces bittersweet chocolate (61 to 70 percent cacao), finely chopped (I used Lindt 70% cacao dark chocolate)
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar, divided
  • 1 large egg yolk, room temperature
  • 3 large egg whites, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted, plus more for dusting
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Butter and flour a 9-inch springform pan.
  2. Melt butter and chocolate in a bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water, stirring until smooth.
  3. Remove chocolate mixture from heat, and whisk in 3/4 cup sugar.
  4. Whisk in egg yolk, then cocoa powder and salt.
  5. Beat egg whites with a mixer on medium speed until foamy. Raise speed to medium-high, gradually beat in remaining 2 tablespoons sugar, and beat until soft, glossy peaks form, about 3 to 4 minutes.
  6. Fold flour into chocolate mixture with a rubber spatula, then fold in egg whites.
  7. Pour batter into pan, and bake until set, about 25 minutes on convection or up to 33 minutes in a standard oven.
  8. Let cake cool completely in pan on a wire rack. Remove side of pan, and dust top of cake with cocoa powder.

Note: Cake can be stored in pan at room temperature, wrapped in plastic wrap (do not let plastic touch cake), up to 1 day.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

60 responses to “Fudgy Brownie Cake

  1. Beautiful cake, you made brownies absolutely elegant!!

  2. I love how fudgy your cake looks, and the chocolate sounds rich and flavorful! Happy FF and have a fantastic weekend! πŸ˜€

  3. This looks so pretty and delicious-sounding. I am with you on using good quality dark chocolate, always better in my mind. Would love to try a slice later!

  4. Pingback: First Fiesta Friday Anniversary (Part 2) | The Novice Gardener

  5. Wow! Absolute gorgeous! Happy FF πŸ˜€

  6. This looks really good–like a fun variation of a brownie. I also have chocolate on my mind! πŸ™‚

  7. ooohi am tempted to make this for my youngests birthday x

  8. I love brownies in any form and this cake looks delicious!

  9. I’m glad I saved a bit of room after that delicious Butter Chicken, Josette… this fudgy brownie cake looks so decadent! I’ll never turn down chocolate…never, ever! Thanks for bringing it to the FF Anniversary party.

    • I don’t know how much room we had after the butter chicken, but we ate this irresistible cake anyway!! :/ Sometimes you’ve got to take one for the team! πŸ™‚ Happy FF, hostess!! πŸ™‚

  10. I’m thinking a fudgy cake and I’m thinking I would love a piece of this fudgy chocolatey brownie!

  11. I am seriously considering making this as my birthday cake! There is nothing more satisfying than a fudgy chocalatey cake in my books! πŸ™‚

  12. I will never turn down a good brownie – they look delicious πŸ™‚

  13. You have made such an elegant looking brownie cake – when it’s fudgy like this, it’s perfect as a pudding! So delicious!

  14. Yum! I love fudge brownies!

  15. Fudgy…brownie…cakey…triple win, Josette! Oh wait, you served it a la mode…quadruple win! πŸ˜€

  16. Mmm. I want this right now! It looks incredibly fudgy and moist. Just the way a good brownie should be. Lucky for me, I have all the ingredients. I know what I’m doing tomorrow. πŸ˜‰ thanks for sharing!

  17. Beautiful and so inviting Josette!

  18. This brownie cakes looks delicious! I have some cocoa powder that needs to be used and a cake sounds perfect πŸ™‚

  19. I don’t love brownies but I love fudge and tortes and this looks like a perfect combination. I’d love a slice please!

  20. Looks delicious, rich and chocolate -yum! Thanks for bringing this to the party πŸ™‚

  21. Love this Josette!! I have all of this in my house right now, this just maybe my Super Bowl sweet treat tonight πŸ™‚

  22. No idea about the super bowl (of what, anyway? salad? ;-)) but I love your cake!

  23. Yummy! This looks so delicious!

  24. OMG! I’m a chocolate addicted, and this cake seems just … delicious. And served with ice-cream … I’m speechless. I have to give it a try!

  25. now could you tell me how many portions this makes please as i am thinking of doing it for my sons birthday just need to work out if i need to double the quantities hehe x

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 917 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
