Chicken with Mustard

My husband LOVES mustard chicken- especially when it is super saucy. I think of it as a classic French bistro dish but apparently it is a classic French home-cooked dish! This one is over the top- the incredible mustard sauce incorporates bacon and creme fraiche- YUM. 🙂 It is definitely one of the best versions I have ever made. Fabulous!!

This recipe was adapted from My Paris Kitchen by David Lebovitz, via The Saint Jeffreys. I substituted boneless, skinless chicken thighs for whole chicken legs and served it with roasted red and sweet potatoes and sautéed spinach instead of over pasta. I think I need to explore this book a little bit more- I am sure that there are many many more wonderful dishes to pore over… mmmmm…..

Yield: Serves 6

  • 1/2 cup Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt or sea salt, or to taste
  • 10 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 1 cup (about 5-6 oz) smoked bacon, diced
  • 1 large Spanish or white onion, diced
  • 1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 1 tablespoon yellow mustard seeds
  • 2 tablespoons creme fraiche
  1. In a 9×13-inch pyrex dish or a large bowl, mix 1/2 cup Dijon mustard with the paprika, some ground pepper, and salt. Mix with chicken thighs, and coat with mixture on all sides. Set aside.
  2. Heat a large skillet (I used enameled cast iron) with a lid over medium heat, and add the diced bacon. Cook the bacon, stirring frequently, until just starting to brown. Remove the bacon from pan, and drain on paper towels. Spoon or pour out all but 1 tablespoon of bacon fat from pan. (The extra bacon fat can be reserved to sauté greens as a side dish!)
  3. Add the diced onion to the pan and cook until translucent, about 5 minutes. Stir in thyme, and cook another minute. Scrape onion and thyme into a bowl. Set aside.
  4. Place the chicken and sauce in the hot skillet in a single layer. Cook over medium-high heat, browning well on one side, and then on the other, about 4 minutes per side. (Make sure the chicken develops a brown color, as this will help with the taste of the sauce.) Once cooked, remove chicken from pan and place on a plate. Set aside.
  5. Add the white wine to pan, and scrape the brown bits that have stuck to the pan. Return the chicken to the pan, and add prepared bacon and onions. Cover and cook over medium heat, turning over pieces a few times, for around 15 minutes. If the sauce is too watery, remove the lid for part of the cooking time.
  6. Remove the skillet from heat, and stir in the mustard seeds and the crème fraiche. Serve with roasted potatoes and sautéed greens, or as desired.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

12 responses to “Chicken with Mustard

  1. bitsofnice

    I love mustard chicken too and I haven’t had it in such a long time! This was a really delicious way of reminding me 🙂 Thank you!

  2. Saved this, it looks incredible. I love mustard chicken only had it once but it is burned into my memory. I also had mustard salmon at a restaurant in Manhattan once and it was so delicious. I tried to replicate once but failed. I think this is an outstanding recipe.

    • This was AMAZING. We are obsessed with mustard chicken over here… (did you see all of my links?- almost embarrassing!!) This is truly one of the best versions EVER. Try it & let me know. The recipe I adapted originally used 4 chicken legs (with bones & skin). SO good! ❤ Josette

  3. Can’t wait to make for Friday night dinner! Hubby will love it, too

  4. Beautiful flavors Josie, it looks amazing! I’m sure that bacon gave it some added flavor.

  5. We’re so glad that you made this recipe and enjoyed it! It really is a keeper & so much easier to prepare than we had expected.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,046 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
