Outrageous Chocolate Chunk Cookies

IMG_2844

Move over brownies! These cookies are super chocolatey, soft, and chewy. Loaded with chocolate chunks. Quick, easy, and delicious. The recipe for these tasty cookies was adapted from Martha Stewart Living; I melted the chocolate in a double boiler and adapted the cooking time to use a convection oven. I’m ready to make them again!!

I’m bringing these goodies to Fiesta Friday #59 at The Novice Gardener. Enjoy πŸ™‚

Yield: Makes 2 dozen

  • 8 ounces semisweet chocolate, roughly chopped
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 package (10-12 ounces) semisweet chocolate chunks
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (on convection).
  2. Heat chopped chocolate and butter over a double boiler. Set aside to cool.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.
  4. In a mixing bowl, beat eggs, brown sugar, and vanilla on high-speed until light and fluffy, about 3 to 5 minutes. Reduce speed to low; beat in melted chocolate.
  5. Mix in flour mixture until just combined. Stir in chocolate chunks.
  6. Drop heaping tablespoons of dough 2 to 3 inches apart onto baking sheets. Bake, rotating sheets halfway through, until cookies are shiny and crackly yet soft in centers, 8 to 10 minutes in a convection oven, or up to 12 to 15 minutes in a standard oven. Cool on baking sheets 10 minutes; transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. (Do not bake the cookies to a crisp; they are meant to be soft and chewy.)

Note: Don’t worry if the batter seems thin. It should look more like a brownie batter than a cookie dough.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

30 responses to “Outrageous Chocolate Chunk Cookies

  1. These certainly look outrageous- but in the BEST way. Thanks for bringing to FF πŸ™‚

  2. Nope. I will not set aside my brownies. Instead, I am taking these, too. πŸ˜€ I love cookies and brownies a lot. But right now, I will enjoy all, er, some of these. Thanks for sharing, Josette. Happy FF. πŸ˜‰

  3. I’ll have a couple please, they look amazing!

  4. These cookies look sooooooo chocolatey. I need to make them soon for my chocolate loving boys!

  5. These cookies look delightful. I think I would have a hard time sharing them πŸ™‚

    • We are only eating desserts on the weekends these days, and I planned to give away the rest of these cookies to neighbors when Monday came around…. My family objected and we saved them until the next weekend! πŸ™‚ (They kept perfectly too!) No sharing over here!

  6. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #59 | The Novice Gardener

  7. Outrageous is good! Like Natalie, I would not want to share these cookies with anyone. πŸ˜€

  8. I think i’m going to try these really, really soon! They look so thick and marvelous! I tried a few recipes years back when all the decadence recipes came out, but never really found a recipe i felt was a keeper! Thanks for posting these gems!

    • Try them!! It was really important to beat the eggs and sugar until they were fluffy and thick before adding the melted chocolate- otherwise I think the batter would be too thin.

  9. Love everything here- cookies and bowl! They look so good, like from a good chocolate-shop! πŸ˜‰ Yum!
    Thanks for sharing these yummies at FF!
    Have a lovely weekend, Josette!
    xoxo

  10. These cookies sound like chocolate heaven! I’ll take a dozen πŸ˜‰

  11. Ummm… Do you ship? ☺️☺️☺️ These look yum!

  12. What lovely cookies! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,014 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
