Jerk Chicken with Spicy Pineapple Sauce & West Indies Roti

IMG_3200

It cost a small fortune to make this marinade, but it was completely worth it! (I only wish that I had put more chicken in it!!) When I saw Mario Batali make this Caribbean meal on The Chew, I wanted to make it and pulled up the recipe immediately. SOooo many delicious flavors.

This recipe was adapted from The Chew, contributed by Mario Batali. I increased the amount of chicken, used skinless chicken thighs, and incorporated whole wheat flour in the roti. The amount of spicy pineapple sauce in this recipe could easily be cut in half. (& I am a HUGE sauce person!) Any leftovers would be tasty eaten as a salsa with tortilla chips.

The chicken did develop a nice char in the oven, but this would be an amazing dish to grill in the summer!! (It has to warm up soon…) I’m bringing this meal to share at Fiesta Friday #61 at Fiesta Friday.net. (Yes! a new home for the party & for Angie of The Novice Gardener.) Enjoy!!

For the Marinade:

  • 1 med red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 bunch scallions, chopped
  • 1/4 cup cayenne pepper – chipotle sauce
  • 2 lemons, zest & juice
  • 1 orange, zest & juice
  • 2 tablespoons molasses
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme
  • 2 tablespoons ground allspice
  • 1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1 scotch bonnet chile (cut in half)
  • 2 serrano chiles (sliced)
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

For the Chicken:

  • 10-14 chicken thighs, boneless, skinless (I used 10 but should have used at least 14!!)
  • coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

For the Spicy Pineapple Sauce:

  • 2 cups Pineapple, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1 medium red onion, cut into 1/8-inch dice
  • 2 serrano chiles, stemmed
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup pineapple juice
  • 1 lime, zest & juice
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt

For the West Indies Roti (Flatbread):

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp coarse salt
  • 4 T  extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup water

To Make the Marinade & Chicken:

  1. For the Marinade: In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients for the marinade.
  2. For the Chicken: Put the chicken pieces in a tight-sealing plastic container and pour the marinade over. (Alternatively, add the chicken to the large bowl of marinade!) Toss well to coat everywhere. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours-overnight is best. (I marinated the chicken for 12 hours and had amazing flavor.)
  3. Preheat oven to 450°F or light your grill with one side hot, one side low.
  4. Remove the chicken from the marinade and discard the marinade. Season with salt and pepper. Place on a baking sheet and roast for 40 minutes; it should get a little char on the top (we like that). If using a grill, place the chicken on the hot side of the grill and cook until nicely charred on both sides, then move to the cooler side and cook with the lid down until cooked through.
  5. Serve hot, with pineapple ketchup and warm roti alongside.

To Make the Spicy Pineapple Sauce:

  1. Place all the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until smooth. If not using immediately, store in a sealed container in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.
    Makes 3 cups.

For the West Indies Roti (Flatbread):

  1. Combine the dry ingredients in a stand mixer fitted with the dough hook.
  2. Turn the mixer on and gradually add the oil and water while mixing, then mix for 5 minutes. Remove the dough from the mixer and let rest for 10 minutes.
  3. Divide the dough into 8 equal balls. Flatten each slightly and roll out into 6-inch rounds.
  4. Heat a cast-iron skillet over high heat until a drop of water sizzles on the surface. Reduce the heat to medium and place the rotis in the pan, 2 at a time, and cook for 2 to 3 minutes, until the crust is light brown. Turn with a wide spatula or tongs and cook for 1 minute on the other side. Repeat with the remaining dough and keep warm in a bowl, covered with a clean dish towel.

Notes:

  • Use the same marinade for pork or fish.
  • Buy pre-made roti or pitas for a quicker dinner.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

38 responses to “Jerk Chicken with Spicy Pineapple Sauce & West Indies Roti

  1. Man! Now I need to make some jerk chicken! So hungry! 😁😁

  2. Chicken looks great Josette, Happy FF 🙂

  3. This sounds amazing! what a great meal! 😋

  4. I do love jerk chicken, and this recipe with the tasty sides looks great. I agree would be great on the BBQ – we’ll get to that weather some day!

  5. I wouldn’t have thought of the vanilla, interesting mix. I bet this is amazing on the grill.

  6. Sinfully Tempting

    I think I am going to have to bring out the grill earlier than planned! Lovely recipe, thanks so much for sharing this week at FF! 🙂

  7. skd

    Really tempting. Would love to try this delicious chicken.

  8. I love jerk chicken, especially when it’s spicy, but usually just take the shortcut and use the marinade from the jar haha. But this recipe definitely makes me want to try making it from scratch for sure! 🙂

  9. Goodness, does that chicken look amazing!! Love all the flavors and components in this meal Josette!!

  10. Josette, the chicken looks fantastic and yes, it does have to warm up and I can just imagine how amazing this would be on the grill! Thanks so much for sharing this with us – Happy Fiesta Friday!

  11. That marinade sounds so good!! The chicken looks amazing! I’ve always wanted to make Jerk Chicken, and I can’t wait to try this recipe! 😀

  12. Very yummy!! I have bookmarked this, and can’t wait to make it!! 😀

  13. The chicken looks fabulous and the marinade sounds yum! 😄

  14. I lernt about this recipe one year ago, I guess. I know that I should make it soon… it sounds a divine combination of flavours! Thanks for being at FF, always a good pleasure!

  15. Ooh, I haven’t had jerk chicken in ages. Your recipe sounds so good, Josette!

  16. I am a huge jerk chicken fan and this sounds delicious. The vanilla threw me a bit though! That spicy pineapple sauce though – I bet it put it right over the top!

  17. Oh my god. I’m make this on the 4th of July! Incredible! I don’t like the chew, but maybe i should start watching!!!

  18. This chicken sounds delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 919 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
