Asparagus and Fava Beans with Toasted Almonds

IMG_3491

This is the ultimate springtime side dish. The asparagus and fava beans are blanched, so they stay really fresh and crisp. The lemon zest adds brightness to the dressing and the toasted almonds give a wonderful contrast of color and texture. Lovely!

Fava beans are quite a bit of work- but worth it for a special meal. (Thank goodness my mom helped me shell them all!!) We enjoyed this for our Easter dinner this year with Salmon with French Lentils and Mustard-Herb Butter. Fresh peas could be substituted for the fava beans in a pinch. This recipe was adapted from Martha Stewart Living; I doubled the asparagus. The leftovers were delicious cold as well.

I am bringing this side to share at Angie’s Fiesta Friday #66 this week- Enjoy!

Yield: Serves 8

  • 1 1/2 pounds fresh fava beans, shelled
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 2 pounds asparagus, tough ends removed
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more if needed
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Juice and zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 cup raw almonds, toasted and chopped
  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees. (I used a toaster oven.) Toast the almonds for 2-4 minutes, or until fragrant. Set aside.
  2. Blanch fava beans in a pot of salted boiling water just until tender, about 1 minute. Transfer to an ice-water bath.
  3. Blanch asparagus in pot until just tender, 2 to 3 minutes; transfer to ice-water bath. Drain vegetables.
  4. Remove outer skin from fava beans (you should have 1 cup). Pat asparagus dry.
  5. Heat a large skillet over medium-high. Swirl in oil, then add garlic and fava beans and season with salt. Cook, stirring frequently, until garlic is softened, 2 minutes. Remove from heat. Transfer beans to a plate with a slotted spoon.
  6. Let skillet cool slightly, then whisk lemon juice into oil in skillet; season with salt and pepper. (Add more oil if dressing is too tart.) Add asparagus; toss to coat with dressing.
  7. Combine almonds and lemon zest in a small bowl.
  8. Transfer asparagus to a platter, top with fava beans, and drizzle remaining dressing in skillet over top. Sprinkle with almond-zest mixture and serve.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

23 responses to “Asparagus and Fava Beans with Toasted Almonds

  1. This is gorgeous, Josette! Love all the textures.

  2. What a lovely vibrant dish of spring goodness. You put it together so beautifully.

  3. skd

    The colors are so bright and unaffected despite the cooking. Screams spring all the way…

  4. Looks great! Happy FF! 🙂

  5. I eagerly wait for your posts Josette. You bring in the simplest yet most gorgeous ones on the table. No complications at all! I like simple recipes…the ones that can be tried and enjoyed..

  6. I am just crazy for asparagus but I’ve never had a fava bean! This recipe looks delicious and sure would be a complete meal or a nice side dish.

  7. I am an asparagus newby. It’s taken me years to grow to like it, but slowly I’m converting and this dish may just change my mind completely!

  8. This is just so simply gorgeous! You have a beautiful touch with food!

  9. petra08

    This is so my kind of food! Yum!

  10. I can’t wait to get my hands on fresh favas! And homegrown asparagus from a friend’s garden! Seems everything is a little late this year. Such a long winter! I’m actually drooling thinking about this dish! 🙂

    • Thanks, Angie! I’ve had fresh favas ONCE- that’s what got me hooked! 🙂 This dish would be over the top with homegrown asparagus too…. so jealous. Everything is late here too- but at least it’s sunny & warm- finally!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
