Lemony Butter Cookies

My daughter asks to eat every lemon garnish on the table- yes– off of everyone’s plate. She LOVES lemons!! I made these cookies just for her. ❤

I love cookies that incorporate confectioners’ sugar because they have such a light and wonderful texture. The grated lemon zest over the top of the glaze made them pretty as well. This recipe is from Food and Wine, contributed by Kristen Stevens. I refrigerated the dough overnight but brought it to room temperature prior to baking. The recipe made exactly three dozen cookies (a dozen on each cookie sheet) – that never happens! (to me, anyway :/ ) Great!

Bringing this tasty treat to share at Angie’s Fiesta Friday #67 @Fiesta Friday.net. Enjoy!!

Yield: 3 dozen cookies

For the Cookies:

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tablespoon finely grated lemon zest
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

For the Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened
  • Finely grated lemon zest, for garnish

Make the Cookies:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350° (on convection) and position racks in the upper and lower thirds. (I used 3 racks.)
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter with the confectioners’ sugar until very smooth, about 2 minutes.
  3. Beat in the lemon zest and juice, then beat in the flour and salt until just incorporated; scrape down the side of the bowl as necessary.
  4. Roll the dough into 1-inch balls. Arrange the balls 1 inch apart on 3 baking sheets and, using your fingers, gently flatten each cookie.
  5. Bake for 12 to 14 minutes, until the cookies are lightly browned on the bottom and just firm; rotate the baking sheets from top to bottom and front to back halfway through baking.
  6. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheets for 2 minutes, then transfer them to a rack to cool completely.

Make the Glaze:

  1. In a bowl, whisk the confectioners’ sugar with the lemon juice and butter until smooth.
  2. Spread (I used a butter knife) the lemon glaze on the cooled cookies and garnish with finely grated lemon zest.
  3. Let stand until the glaze is set, about 15 minutes.

Note: The cookies can be stored in an airtight container for up to 2 days.

IMG_3647

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

17 responses to “Lemony Butter Cookies

  1. Looks delicious! My daughter also loves lemons!

  2. Your daughter sounds adorable! 🙂 My daughter, meanwhile, used my lemons last night to make some kind of bath bombs! Btw, Josette, are you on Pinterest?

  3. These cookies look so tender and buttery Josette- perfect to eat with some coffee on the side. Thanks for bringing them to FF this week 🙂

  4. I am totally trusting your judgement on biscuits after I tried your chocolate biscuits. (Your really really chocolatey ones. I meant to write a post about it, but we were too busy eating to take photos) This will be another big hit in my house!

  5. I love anything with lemon, it tastes so light and fresh! Can’t wait to make a batch!

  6. They look amazing – have you any left? Hmm. I thought so. 😉

  7. Love the lemony flavor.. thanks for sharing..Will try soon

  8. I love anything lemony in my dessert too!!! It balances the sweetness of any dessert so well with its tart nature.
    Beautiful cookies! ❤️

  9. Pingback: Lemony Butter Cookies | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,014 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
