Mark Bittman’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

I feel somewhat compelled to try different chocolate chip cookie recipes- especially when they claim to be “The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies EVER”…. (and I don’t think I’m alone!)

A couple of weekends ago, I had to make a dessert for my kids and their friends, so naturally I thought of chocolate chip cookies. I had seen this recipe adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything on Sarah n Spice.com. She said that they were “The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies EVER”- even beating out a recipe from Alton Brown. (WHAT!?!?) I had to try this one.

I liked that the recipe incorporated both mini and standard semisweet chocolate chips. I adapted the recipe only to chill the dough prior to baking. We ate them as is as well as in chipwich form with French vanilla ice cream. SO good!! I have come to the conclusion that I just appreciate a really good chocolate chip cookie. It’s too hard to judge “The Best!”

  • ½ pound unsalted butter, softened
  • ¾ cup granulated sugar
  • ¾ cup light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1¾ cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • ¼ cup semisweet mini chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 375 on convection.
  2. Start off by creaming together sugar and butter in a stand mixer until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
  3. Add in eggs one at a time, mixing until fully incorporated.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. Add the dry to the wet ingredients and mix until the cookie dough comes together.
  5. With a spoon, stir in the chocolate chips.
  6. Cover the dough with plastic wrap and chill for 1 hour or up to overnight.
  7. Scoop tablespoon-size mounds on a baking sheet. (I used an ice cream scoop.)
  8. Bake for 10 minutes. Let cool on the pan for 2 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack. Enjoy!

IMG_3055

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Other Chocolate Chip Cookie Favorites:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

18 responses to “Mark Bittman’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Agree. It’s hard to judge the best! Now you have me craving chocolate chip cookies…I have everything on hand so I think I’ll just go whip up a batch. 🙂

  2. I’m so happy you liked the cookies! Love the Chipwich idea 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing Josette, they look like they’d go PERFECTLY with some french vanilla ice cream sandwiched in between them 😀

  4. jessicanadelson

    Love the picture!!!

  5. Super awesome recipe Josette!
    Was it crunchy or chewy or soft?
    Will give it a try!

  6. Just reading through the ingredients, I’d love to snatch about half a dozen all for myself 🙂

  7. doreen

    What temperature do you use if you don’t have a convection oven? 350?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
