German-Style Bacon & Shallot Potato Salad

I have to confess that I am not really a huge fan of potato salad. I guess that I usually think of potato salad as the typical super starchy mayonnaise-laden version. This German-style potato salad is loaded with mustard, bacon, and shallots- some of my absolute favorite ingredients. When my husband requested potato salad for his belated Father’s Day cookout, I was so happy to have found this mustard version! It was tangy and loaded with flavor. πŸ™‚ This recipe was adapted from The New York Times, contributed by Melissa Clark. It is best eaten warm, just after it is assembled, but would also be good at room temperature. Perfect for every summer cookout. I’m sharing this with my friends at Angie’s Fiesta Friday #75 this week- which I am co-hosting with my friend Julie of Hostess at Heart! Come join the fun! πŸ™‚ Happy 4th of July! Yield: Serves 8

  • 2 pounds small waxy white or yellow potatoes, roughly about the same size
  • 6 ounces thick-cut bacon, diced
  • Β½ cup thinly sliced shallot (I used 2 GIANT shallots)
  • 3 tablespoons whole grain mustard
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar, more to taste
  • ΒΌ teaspoon coarseΒ salt, more as needed
  • freshly ground black pepper, as needed
  • chopped parsley, for garnish, optional
  1. Place whole unpeeled potatoes in a large pot with enough salted water to cover by 1 inch. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat and cook until potatoes are just tender, 15 to 25 minutes depending upon size.
  2. Drain and cut potatoes into 1 1/2-inch chunks as soon as you can handle them. Transfer to a large bowl.
  3. Meanwhile, fry bacon in a large skillet over medium-high heat until crisp. Remove with a slotted spoon and transfer to a paper-towel-lined plate.
  4. Stir shallots into the skillet with the bacon fat and fry for a minute, until just slightly crisped. Remove from heat.
  5. In a medium bowl, whisk together mustard, vinegar, salt and pepper. Whisk in shallots and bacon drippings. (I added the mustard mixture directly to my skillet to combine with all of the drippings.)
  6. Crumble in bacon. Immediately toss potatoes with dressing. Adjust seasonings if necessary.
  7. Garnish with parsley and more vinegar if you like and serve warm or at room temperature.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

20 responses to “German-Style Bacon & Shallot Potato Salad

  1. That is such an easy, simple but flavorful dish! A must try for potato lovers!! Happy FF and Happy 4 th of July!

  2. KCole's Creative Corner

    Potato salad is such a great, classic dish for 4th of July! I love the addition of that bacon and the whole grain mustard!

  3. This potato salad would be amazing cold or hot and the perfect side to anything! I love the beautiful potatoes mixed with that yummy bacon and shallots! Happy 4th and #75 FF Josette!

  4. I JUST printed the NYT recipe out this morning. It’s great to see that you made it and read your comments as well. And, thank you so much for co-hosting FF. It’s my favorite party in the blogosphere. πŸ˜€

  5. Love German potato salad especially when served warm. Thanks for co-hosting Fiesta Friday. Have a great weekend and Happy FF!

  6. I dont like mayo based potato salads either, but this one sounds just about perfect! Thank you for sharing Josette and for hosting FF!

  7. I’ve also always been a bit so-so on potato salad because I think of them as being somewhat cloying, overwhelmed with all that mayonnaise…but this salad sounds so delicious: not so heavy and with a nice bit of acidity πŸ™‚

  8. I love it I love it I love it! It looks a bit like the dish I always eat when on Winter holiday in Austria πŸ™‚

  9. Great recipe. Top marks, we really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing.

    Simon

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,027 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
