Gooseberry & Blueberry Galette

Gooseberries!?!? This galette was my first experience with gooseberries. When I received a pint of these colorful and tart berries in my CSA share, I really searched for the perfect use for them. Happy I found this one!

This dessert had an amazing crust that worked really well with the sweet and tart filling. Jammy and delicious filling oozed all over my pan as well- a little messy but SO good! This recipe was adapted from Food and Wine, contributed by Lindsey Shere. I added my CSA blueberries to the gooseberries- it was a great fruit share week. 🙂 We ate it warm with vanilla ice cream on the side. Delicious!

Yield: Serves 6 to 8

For the Pastry:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon sugar
  • 6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2 -inch dice
  • About 3 tablespoons ice water

IMG_5029
For the Filling:

  • 1/2 cup plus 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 pint gooseberries (about 2 cups), stems and tails removed
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • vanilla ice cream, for serving

To Make the Pastry:

  1. On a large sheet of parchment paper lightly dusted with flour, roll out the dough into a round about 14 inches in diameter; it doesn’t have to be perfect around the edges—its roughness is part of its charm. Lay it on a large baking sheet or pizza pan and refrigerate.
  2. Pat the dough into a disk, wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes or overnight.
  3. Stir in the ice water with a fork. The dough should hold together when pressed; if it doesn’t, add a few more drops of ice water.
  4. Using a pastry blender, 2 knives or your fingers, cut in half of the butter until the mixture resembles coarse cornmeal with particles the size of peas. Then cut in the remaining butter until it forms chunks the size of peas.
  5. In a large bowl, mix the flour, salt and sugar.

To Finish the Galette:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400° (convection).
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the sugar and cinnamon.
  3. Mix 1 tablespoon of the cinnamon-sugar with the flour and sprinkle this mixture over a 9-inch area of the pastry.
  4. Spread all of the berries on top. Reserve 2 tablespoons of the cinnamon-sugar and sprinkle the remainder over the berries.
  5. Fold the edges of the pastry up over the berries to form a 9-inch free-form tart, making pleats and pressing them together lightly.
  6. Brush the pastry with water and sprinkle with the reserved cinnamon-sugar.
  7. Bake on a rimmed baking sheet (mine oozed delicious juices everywhere!) in the center of the oven for 35 minutes (convection) to 50 minutes (standard), or until the berries are bubbling and lightly browned and the pastry has caramelized in spots and is well browned on the bottom.
  8. Cut the tart into wedges with a sharp knife and serve with vanilla ice cream.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

16 responses to “Gooseberry & Blueberry Galette

  1. Josette this look so yummy!!! 🙂

  2. I’m so jealous! I’ve never had gooseberries beyond the occasional garnish–they look so pretty and sound delicious, especially baked into a lovely galette.

  3. I’ve never had gooseberries before, but I’m very curious as to what they taste like. This galette is a thing of pure beauty 😉

  4. I have never baked with gooseberries. Back home we get large gooseberries and my mom would try to get me to eat them as they are very nutritious. She should have tried this galette 😀 Beautiful!

  5. This looks delicious! I have to try with all the fresh fruit now! Yummy

  6. I do love gooseberries! I’ve been to Russia this summer and ate lots of these berries! Yummy!

  7. Pingback: Pasta Frolla…1, 2, 3 | My Kitchen Witch

  8. Pingback: Gooseberry & Blueberry Galette | homethoughtsfromabroad626

  9. jessicanadelson

    Love your photo of the gooseberries!!! Thinking of printing and framing it for my kitchen…….

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,023 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
