Simple Barbecue Sauce

I hate to admit it, but I initially dismissed this recipe when I read it in the New York Times- it seemed too simple to be good. I thought this despite the fact that I have FOUR different types of paprika in my spice cabinet and smoked paprika is not only my favorite, but is the secret ingredient in this sauce! When it was posted as a “most popular recipe, ” I had to try it. 🙂

We ate it over chicken thighs with potatoes, corn, and summer squash casserole on the side. What a meal! The original recipe suggests that the sauce should be thinned out if painting the meat while cooking and serving the full-strength sauce along with the cooked meat. This recipe is from the New York Times, contributed by John Willoughby. A simple and perfect summer recipe.

  • ⅔ cup ketchup
  • ½ cup cider vinegar
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pimentón (smoked Spanish paprika)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper
  1. Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan, bring to a simmer over medium heat and cook for 5 minutes.

IMG_5359

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

18 responses to “Simple Barbecue Sauce

  1. Smoked paprika is one of my favorite spices, too. The sauce looks so thick and flavorful. I’m saving this to try!

  2. skd

    The glaze which the sauce gives is amazing!

  3. have never tried making my own bbq sauce but this looks so delish that I think I’ll give it a go!

  4. Very nice! And very useful 🙂

  5. Looks wonderful. Paprika is a magical spice! Is this sauce a bit on the vinegary side?

  6. Oh my glaze-y goodness! And in 10 minutes, too? I’m sold! Yum!

  7. I see myself trying this! Thanks for sharing 🙂 The sauce looks great!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 967 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
