Simple Caesar Salad

No anchovies… No raw egg… This Caesar salad dressing is made with everyday pantry staples and is absolutely delicious!

My friend brought this salad for a special lunch at my house and I have made it several times since. My family is addicted. 🙂 The recipe is from RealSimple.com. I added salt and pepper to taste. I usually double the recipe as it keeps well in the refrigerator in a jar- always ready for the next salad!

Yield: Serves 4 to 6

  • 4 to 5 slices sourdough bread, cut into cubes
  • 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for shaving or grating over the finished salad
  • 1 (12-ounce) package romaine hearts (3 hearts)
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  1. Heat oven to 350°F. (I used my toaster oven!)
  2. Toss the bread cubes with 1 tablespoon of the olive oil and season with salt and freshly ground pepper. Spread the cubes on a baking sheet and bake 10 to 12 minutes, or until golden. Set aside to cool.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the remaining olive oil, mayonnaise, lemon juice, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, garlic, and Parmesan until well blended. Taste an adjust seasonings as desired. (I place it in a jar and shake to combine.)
  4. Remove any wilted outer leaves from romaine hearts and slice. Wash and spin dry.
  5. Toss washed romaine with croutons and dressing. Top with Parmesan shavings (or grated Parmesan) and season with freshly ground pepper.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

17 responses to “Simple Caesar Salad

  1. great but I love it with the anchovies too, if they are added as a paste you cannot identify them as anchovies they just add an umami taste I am sure you know that anyway but thought I’d add to fuel discussion – happy end of Sunday Poli

  2. I love how simple this is and adding the worcestershire is a great sub for the anchovies. Caesar salad is one of my favorites.

    • It’s true- the Worcestershire is the anchovy substitute- and the mayo for the egg. It works so well! My husband and kids would love to eat Caesar salad EVERY day. 🙂 I actually appreciate that this recipe makes enough for about 4 generous servings. I can alternate it with my vinaigrette and salad with loads of veggies!

  3. This salad sounds simply perfect. I hope to make it soon for lunch this week. 🙂

  4. I love a good Caesar Salad such as this, but I need my anchovies – never use raw eggs. If young ones are around I will leave them out and make a creamy version 🙂

  5. An awesome simple and delicious dressing recipe Josette!

  6. Your Caesar salad looks delicious & I love your dressing recipe. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. I dunno, I like the real thing!!! But it does look good, and I take your word for it that it’s good!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
