Oven-Roasted Chicken Shawarma

The New York Times described this dish as “an oven-roasted version of the classic street-side flavor bomb usually cooked on a rotisserie.” What a perfect description! This dish is insanely flavorful. We ate it with chopped cucumbers and tomatoes, wheat flatbread, bulgur pilaf, and “white sauce.” The traditional white sauce that is served with this dish is plain yogurt or sour cream (I used sour cream on this occasion) mixed with a little bit of coarse salt, garlic, and lemon juice. It can also be served with hot sauce.

This recipe was adapted from The New York Times, contributed by Sam Sifton. My husband said he would eat it every day. ๐Ÿ™‚ Fabulous!

Yield: 4 to 6 servings

  • 2 lemons, juiced
  • ยฝ cup olive oil
  • 6 cloves garlic, peeled, smashed and minced
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • ยฝ teaspoon turmeric
  • A pinch ground cinnamon
  • Red-pepper flakes, to taste
  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 1 large red onion, peeled and quartered
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  1. Prepare a marinade for the chicken: Combine the lemon juice, 1/2 cup olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper, cumin, paprika, turmeric, cinnamon and red-pepper flakes in a large bowl, then whisk to combine. Add the chicken, and toss well to coat. Cover, and store in refrigerator for at least 1 hour and up to 12 hours.
  2. When ready to cook, preheat oven to 425, preferably on convection roast.ย Line aย rimmed sheet pan with parchment paper.
  3. Add the quartered onion to the chicken and marinade, and toss once to combine.
  4. Remove the chicken and onion from the marinade, and place on the pan, spreading everything evenly across it.
  5. Put the chicken in the oven, and roast until it is browned, crisp at the edges and cooked through, about 30 on convection roast, or up to 40 minutes in a standard oven.
  6. Remove from the oven, allow to rest 2 minutes, then slice into bits. (To make the chicken even more crisp, set a large pan over high heat, add a tablespoon of olive oil to the pan, then the sliced chicken, and sautรฉ until everything curls tight in the heat.)
  7. Scatter the parsley over the top and serve with tomatoes, cucumbers, pita or flatbread, white sauce, hot sauce, olives, fried eggplant, feta, rice โ€” really anything you desire.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

45 responses to “Oven-Roasted Chicken Shawarma

  1. The chicken looks so perfectly cooked and wonderfully flavored with the spices. I have been meaning to try making Chicken shawarma so thanks Josette for this recipe! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Looks delicious! ๐Ÿ™‚ I also love to serve with such a dish a dressing made of yogurt and tahini.

  3. Sounds delicious! I’ve seen a few recipes for children clenched shawarma, but this looks like the best one! Might have to give it a try ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I need to come to your house for dinner – the whole meal looks and sounds yummy ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Big Shawarma fan here! Pinned and would try this!

  6. I had it bookmarked. You’ve convinced me to make it too. Looks so flavorful and gorgeous in your platter!

  7. This dish looks and sounds amazing Josette!

  8. yum. i think i could eat this every day as well!

  9. skd

    Lovely idea Josette!!! The chicken looks delicious ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. petra08

    The first thing I did was to save the recipe! Just reading it made me fully understand your hunsbands desire to eat it every day! I will make this for sure, it looks utterly delicious! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Seriously Josette! This one grabbed my attention. I’m going to make it for sure. Thank you for sharing!

  12. Hello there! Thanks for stopping by my blog today. I was hoping to “follow” you on WordPress so your blog would appear in my readerboard, but I am not finding a “Follow” button for WP. (It could be my user error, lol!) ๐Ÿ˜€ However, I will follow you via Email.

  13. Omg baked shawarma? This looks SO good! I’m pinning this to try later… am definitely on the look-out for a good shawarma recipe. Have you ever made toum?? I tried once and it was OK, but not the best.. Loving your blog by the way! Your photos and (more importantly) recipes look phenomenal ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. This looks incredible!!! And anything the husband will eat everyday, WIN ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. This looks absolutely delicious!

  16. What a beautiful recipe! I love all the healthy spices incorporated in it! I can see why it is referred to as a flavor bomb by the New York Times!

  17. Darya

    Does the cook time vary if I use chicken breast, instead of the suggested thigh cut?

  18. I would check the meat after 30 minutes but It seems like it would still be in that cooking time frame. Enjoy!!

  19. Terri

    Any ideas for converting to a slow cooker recipe?

    • Thank you for visiting my blog. I apologize for not responding sooner- your note was lost in the shuffle somehow. I think that part of what makes this dish so yummy is that the chicken gets crispy from oven-roasting. This may be lost in a slow-cooker- I’m sorry!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
