Za’atar Rubbed Pork Tenderloin

This was such a lovely dinner, I felt like I should have been making it for a dinner party! My family and I did enjoy it… and we didn’t have to share. 😉 We ate this main dish along with Spicy Israeli Couscous with Summer Squash. Great.

This recipe was adapted from Food and Wine, contributed by Grace Parisi. I made my own za’atar blend and included the ingredients and instructions below.

I am bringing this boldly flavored dish to share at Fiesta Friday #86, co-hosted by Judi @ Cooking with Aunt Juju and Quinn @ Dad Whats 4 Dinner. Enjoy!!

Yield: Serves 4 to 6

For the Za’atar:

  • 1 T thyme
  • 1 T sesame seeds, toasted in a dry skillet and coarsely pulsed in a spice grinder
  • 1 tsp sumac
  • 1/4 tsp coarse salt

To Finish the Dish:

  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • coarse Kosher salt
  • Two 12-ounce pork tenderloins, sliced crosswise 1 1/2 inches thick and pounded 1/2 inch thick
  • 2 poblano peppers
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 pint grape tomatoes, halved
  1. Make the Za’atar: Toast the sesame seeds in a dry skillet until lightly toasted. Pulse in a spice grinder until a powder is formed. Combine with sumac, thyme, and coarse salt.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the za’atar with the oil. Add the pork, turn to coat and let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, roast the poblanos directly over a gas flame or under a broiler, turning frequently, until blackened; transfer to a bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let cool slightly. Peel and seed the chiles; cut into thin strips.
  4. In a large nonstick skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil from the pork marinade. Add the pork and cook over high heat, turning once, until white throughout and lightly browned, 5 minutes. Transfer the pork to a platter.
  5. Add any remaining marinade oil to the skillet. Add the onion and poblano and cook over moderately high heat, stirring, until the onion is softened, 5 minutes. Add the tomatoes and toss. Add 1/2 cup of water and cook until the tomatoes are just softened, 4 minutes.
  6. Spoon the tomato-poblano sauce over the pork and serve.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

13 responses to “Za’atar Rubbed Pork Tenderloin

  1. Omg looks delicious! Shouldn’t be reading your post on an empty stomach! Going to have to try this one day, I love spiced filled dishes!

  2. I love cooking with pork tenderloins – it lends itself to so many different possibilities. Another great recipe Josette – thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday.

  3. Very unique recipe for pork tenderloin which welove too. Have sumac and had no idea it was in Za’atar! Drooling and learning here!

  4. Love Za’atar and this pork tenderloin looks spectacular.

  5. This looks delicious – I don’t often cook with pork tenderloin but the flavours in this are making me want to.

  6. This just looks spectacular!!! Love za’atar, but I’ve never made the seasoning mixture from scratch. I definitely need to – it’s not like me!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 919 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
