Basil Baked Salmon with Tomato Salad

It’s the last official weekend of the summer. 😦 As much as I love autumn, I know that the change of season also means we are getting closer to cold weather… which I absolutely dread. Ugh.

This meal bridges the summer and fall seasons. It was as torn as I am to leave summer behind and embrace the cooler weather! :/ The salmon is smothered with summery fresh pesto accompanied by autumn-esque roasted sunshine squash and potatoes, as well as fabulous sautéed CSA chard on the side. The tomato salad was literally the icing on the cake (salmon)! 🙂 It was great to make with late summer tomatoes, backyard basil and fresh CSA vegetables.

This recipe was adapted from Food and Wine, contributed by Ian Knauer. I increased the proportion of sauce to salmon and used grape instead of cherry tomatoes. I am always a little bit nervous when cooking fish… I cooked the salmon for the 15 minutes as specified in the recipe, but next time would start checking the fish at 10 or 12 minutes. Such a healthy and fresh meal. 🙂

Yield: Serves 2

  • 2 (8 ounce) wild salmon filets
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 1 cup basil leaves, plus 2 to 4 more leaves
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil, separated
  • 1 pint cherry or grape tomatoes, halved or quartered
  • 1 teaspoon red wine vinegar
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. ( I used the convection setting.)
  2. In a food processor with the motor running, drop the garlic clove into the feed tube and run the motor until it is finely chopped.
  3. Add the 1 cup of basil, pine nuts, and 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper, then pulse until finely chopped.
  4. With the motor running, pour in 3 tablespoons of the oil until combined.
  5. Place the salmon on an oiled baking sheet, then divide the basil mixture between the salmon, then top each filet with 2 small or one large basil leaf.
  6. Bake the salmon until just cooked through, about 10 to 15 minutes.
  7. While the salmon bakes, in a bowl, stir together the tomatoes, vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper, and the remaining 1 tablespoon oil.
  8. Top the salmon with the tomato salad and serve.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

10 responses to “Basil Baked Salmon with Tomato Salad

  1. Lovely meal, a very nice tribute to and farewell to summer. Hard to believe it won’t be long until we are wearing sweaters and coats.

  2. I have already gotten out my winter duvets and contemplating wooly socks, haha! This dish looks absolutely beautiful! A lovely way to bid adieu to summer 🙂

  3. Looks absolutely delicious, Josette! 🙂

  4. Love how this salmon is loaded with the end of summer produce, all my favorites together. Yum!

  5. I love salmon all different ways. I will try this with my pesto as my fresh basil leaves are limited in my garden!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 967 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
