Slow-Cooker White Bean Chicken Chili with Salsa Verde

My slow-cooker is really underutilized. When I saw this recipe on one of my favorite blogs, Dave Bakes, I fell in love with it. It had SO many of my favorite flavors. I loved that the chicken thighs and beans actually cooked in the salsa verde. The salsa imparted such a fabulously tangy and spicy flavor. What a wonderful slow-cooker meal!

A while ago, Dave of Dave Bakes convinced me to get a Pullman loaf pan… so I had to make a Pullman loaf of cornbread to accompany this meal. It was only fitting. 😉 Spicy and Great!

Yield: Serves 6 to 8

  • 2 T extra-virgin olive oil
  • 5 boneless skinless chicken thighs
  • 12 to 16 ounces chicken sausage (about 5 links), such as chicken apple sausage or chicken other smoked chicken or turkey sausage
  • 1 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 8 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cans (about 16 ounces each) organic Great Northern Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2- 12 oz jars tomatillo salsa, about 1 1/2 cups
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 1 can (14.5 ounces) diced tomatoes with juice, fire-roasted, chili-style, or plain
  • 1 cup frozen corn kernels
  • 2 T finely chopped jalapeno peppers, or mild chile peppers (I used canned fire-roasted jarred green chilies)
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • dash cayenne pepper, optional
  • sour cream, creme fraiche, or plain Greek yogurt, for serving, if desired
  • fresh cilantro, for serving, if desired
  • lime wedges, for serving, if desired
  1. In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions, diced chicken, and sliced sausage; sauté until onions are tender and chicken is cooked through.
  2. Put the drained beans in a 4 to 6-quart slow cooker; add the skillet mixture and all remaining ingredients except the garnishes (sour cream (etc.), cilantro, and lime wedges).
  3. Cover and cook on HIGH for 3 to 4 hours or LOW for 6 to 8 hours. (I cooked mine on low for 7 hours.)
  4. To serve, top with a dollop of sour cream/yogurt/creme fraiche, sprinkle of chopped cilantro, and a lime wedge, as desired.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

15 responses to “Slow-Cooker White Bean Chicken Chili with Salsa Verde

  1. We share the same preference for Chicken Thighs–I remember having that in common with you, haha! In fact, I don’t even remember the last time I’ve had chicken breast. Anyways, I’m so touched that you made it! It looks great!!

  2. I just saw this recipe on Dave’s website and thought I have to make it too! I don’t have a pullman loaf pan. What do you think it added to your cornbread? Your chili came out just mouth watering! I need to go make dinner. Everything I see I want to just devour!

  3. I could sink my teeth into a big bowl of this! Chicken thighs get my vote too!

  4. This looks so good it makes me hungry Josette 🙂

  5. I love chili! Your dish looks fabulous!

  6. Love all the ingredients in this chilli, will definitely be trying this out. There’s just so much goodness in it.

  7. It looks delicious! Must try this one!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,014 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
