Soft Baked Snickerdoodles

I am drawn to recipes promising soft-baked and perfectly puffy cookies because I love the texture. BUT… I think it’s me… My soft-baked cookies are soft and delicious, but never as puffy. It’s weird! (and disappointing…) I’m blaming every oven I’ve ever had. 🙂 It just can’t be me! 😉

Snickerdoodles just seem like the perfect autumn cookie. The cinnamon sugar topping is really season-less, but it just speaks to me this time of year. Most recipes seem to include shortening which is an ingredient that I completely avoid. This wonderful shortening-free recipe is from Buttercup Baking. Her cookies were SO puffy!! Mine were a little flatter (as you now know!) but super tasty.

Yield: 3 dozen cookies

For the Cookie Dough:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 ½ cups granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp coarse salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon

For the Cinnamon Sugar Topping:

  • 2 T granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees, preferably on convection.
  2. Beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.
  3. Add the eggs one at a time and mix.
  4. Whisk together the flour, cream of tartar, cinnamon, and baking soda.
  5. Add the salt after sifting and add the flour mixture slowly to the butter mixture. Mix until just incorporated.
  6. To Make the Topping: In a small shallow bowl, mix 2 T of sugar and 2 tsp of cinnamon.
  7. Using a large cookie scoop, make equally portioned balls of dough, about 3 dozen.
  8. Roll the balls of dough into the cinnamon sugar topping and place on baking sheet lined with a silicone baking sheet or parchment paper.
  9. Bake in oven for 8 minutes on convection or up to 10 minutes in a standard oven (do not overbake). Let sit on baking sheet for 3 minutes before moving to cooling rack. The cookies will continue to cook on the baking sheet (so do not be tempted to put them back in the oven).

Note: These cookies are best eaten within a few days. For best taste, store in an air-tight container with a slice of white bread to absorb excess moisture.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

20 responses to “Soft Baked Snickerdoodles

  1. Snickerdoodle has to be the most fun cookie name to say. Just the thought makes me smile! These look great! I’m in the same boat though…mine don’t get puffy either.

  2. I know the feeling Josette, trust me: there are some recipes I’ve tried where I just know somehow my craptastic apartment oven is to blame for my cookies not being as ‘puffy’ as the pictures I see in the original recipe look. I’ve found that chilling my dough overnight no matter what cookie recipe I’m trying out really helps to keep them from spreading though. Also, some of my baking sheets work better than others. I assume it’s just a difference in metals and how they conduct the heat- weird

    But rest assured, these Snickerdoodles look MARVELOUS 😉

    • Thanks, Jess. It’s true.. I went against my better judgement and didn’t chill the dough. I am a HUGE fan of doing that as well. I was also wondering if using parchment paper instead of a silpat liner makes a difference. I have silpat liners but don’t use them as often because they are such a pain to clean!

  3. I’m a big fan of cinnamon, they look great!

  4. I’m not much of a sweet-eater but I just love a good snickerdoodle! These look fantastic!

  5. It’s so funny that you mentioned shortening, because I avoid it in everything but two things: My grandmother’s pumpkin bread and snickerdoodles! I know it’s weird, but I just can’t make either and get the texture right with butter. But then I only eat them once a year or so, and avoid so many other things that I don’t mind so much compromising for those two things.

  6. Actually cookies look great&tasty! 🙂 So don’t be upset if they turned out not fluffy as you wanted 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 919 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
