Balthazar’s Cream of Mushroom Soup

I was agonizing over what to make my mom for an early birthday dinner celebration. She is the most gracious guest and always says she likes everything she is served- but I wanted to make sure that she was truly pleased. Finally, I just asked her what she would like! (That was simple enough.) “Soup and salad. Perfect in the colder weather. Mushroom soup would be wonderful,” she said. I was happy to find this fabulous recipe from the Balthazar. We ate it with a sourdough baguette and green salad- of course! A Birthday pear and apple galette was our celebratory dessert. Perfect. 🙂

This recipe was adapted from The Balthazar Cookbook via Smitten Kitchen. I decreased the amount of sage, olive oil, and cream, increased the garlic, and modified the amount of each type of mushroom. Earthy and special. Happy Birthday, Mom!! ❤

  • 1 ounce dried mushrooms (porcini, morels, or shiitakes)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 sprigs of rosemary
  • 2 large sprigs of sage
  • 1 large yellow or sweet onion, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 6 large garlic cloves, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 20 oz white button mushrooms, cleaned and thinly sliced
  • 12 oz shiitake mushrooms stemmed, cleaned and thinly sliced
  • 6 cups organic chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  1. Soak the dry mushrooms in 1 cup of warm water for 20 to 30 minutes, until plump.
  2. Strain the soaking liquid through a coffee filter to remove grit and reserve, along with the reconstituted mushrooms, until needed.
  3. Heat the olive oil in a large pot over a medium flame. Bundle the rosemary and sage together and tie with kitchen twine. When the oil is hot, add the herb bundle and sizzle for a few minutes on both sides to infuse the oil.
  4. Add the onion, garlic, salt and pepper and cook for 3 to 5 minutes, until the onion is soft and translucent but not brown.
  5. Turn the flame to medium high to high and add the white mushrooms and shiitakes.
  6. Cook for 10 minutes, during which the mushrooms will give off their liquid (which should evaporate quickly due to the high heat) and deflate significantly. Stir occasionally.
  7. Add the chicken stock and the dried mushrooms along with the soaking water.
  8. Simmer for 30 minutes. Remove the herbs, then add the cream and butter.
  9. Working in batches, puree the soup in a blender until smooth. (I used an immersion blender.) Return to the pot and keep at a very low simmer until ready to serve.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

29 responses to “Balthazar’s Cream of Mushroom Soup

  1. Nothing like a steamy bowl of mushroom soup to drive away the winter woes. I’m sure your Mom really appreciated your efforts. I love all the ingredients, and I’m sure the sourdough baguette dipped in the soup was a real treat.

  2. Your mom is a lucky lady Josette! i love mushroom soup. When I was recovering from surgery a friend made me some and I still think of it 10’yrs later! We live near the mushroom capital of the world and this soup is famous at nearby Longwood gardens. I always order it! http://themushroomcap.blogspot.com/2012/01/longwood-gardens-mushroom-soup-recipe.html

  3. Happy Birthday to your Mom and how lucky she is. The recipe from Balthazar is the best mushroom soup I have had. Really beautifully done.

  4. Delicious! I would love a nice, hot bowl of mushroom soup! 😊

  5. I love a good earthy mushroom soup. Might be giving this recipe a try. Hope you share with us tonight 7:00est at #Throwback Thursday link party.

  6. Your mom is lucky! Sounds delicious! I love mushrooms. Sounds like a lovely meal.

  7. Oh yummy! I have been thinking of making a mushroom soup. I absolutely love mushrooms and it seems like the perfect time of year! Pinning to try!

  8. This looks wonderful! I feel that mushroom soup is highly under rated. Yumm

  9. Happy B’day to your mom and what a comforting soup….perfect for the fall…. 🙂

  10. What a fantastic birthday present for your Mom! The soup looks velvety delicious. 🙂

  11. HAppy Birthday to your Mom! Ummm, where’s the galette? 🙂 This soup sounds so good – dried and fresh mushrooms!

  12. It sounds like a wonderful birthday celebration!

  13. Oh yummy! I have been thinking of making a mushroom soup. I absolutely love mushrooms and it seems like the perfect time of year! Pinning to try!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
