Maple Dijon Roasted Rainbow Carrots

When I saw this recipe on Brooklyn Homemaker right before Thanksgiving, I immediately added it to my menu. I loved the flavors and rainbow carrots are just irresistible. Thank goodness some of my fellow bloggers post wonderful side dishes before a holiday! Maybe I’ll do that someday. πŸ˜‰

Yield: Serves 6

  • 2 lbs rainbow carrots
  • 4 T unsalted butter
  • 2 to 3 teaspoons finely chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 1/4 cup pureΒ maple syrup, preferably dark amber
  • 1 T dijon mustard
  • 2 tsp whole grain mustard
  • 1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 3 to 4 T chopped flat leaf parsley, optional
  1. Preheat oven to 400 F on convection roast.
  2. Wash, dry, and peel carrots and place in a shallow dish long and wide enough to fit them all. (I used a parchment lined (rimmed) baking sheet.)
  3. Add butter and thyme to a small saucepan and heat over a medium flame to melt butter. Continue to warm the butter for 1 to 2 minutes. The butter should take on a green-ish tint from the thyme leaves.
  4. Remove from heat and cool for a few minutes.
  5. In a small bowl combine maple syrup, mustards, nutmeg, and salt and pepper.
  6. Whisk in butter until smooth and well combined.
  7. Pour the butter/syrup mixture over the carrots and toss to coat.
  8. Arrange the carrots on a parchment lined baking sheet, and use a spatula to scrape any remaining butter/syrup mixture over them. You may want to use two sheets of parchment to make sure the whole pan is completely covered.
  9. Roast until tender and brown, for about 35 minutes or up to 1 hour, using tongs to turn each carrot about 20 minutes in. Watch carefully to ensure that the sugar in the maple syrup doesn’t burn onto the parchment.
  10. Top with chopped parsley or additional fresh thyme before serving.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

15 responses to “Maple Dijon Roasted Rainbow Carrots

  1. skd

    Colorful little recipe Josette. Thanks for sharing and happy holidays πŸ™‚

  2. Lovely!!!! And there’s a new grocers near me with rainbow carrots πŸ™‚

  3. These look incredibly delicious, Josette!! Want to make this recipe for sure! πŸ˜‰

  4. Sue

    Hi Josette,

    Gosh, it’s been so long since I’ve been a regular on wordpress and I immediately felt sad (weird!) looking at your blog, I feel like I’ve missed so much. Just scrolling down the last 3 posts . . . all dishes that are so in tune with how I like to eat and cook as usual. I realize I’ve missed your blog so much. I had a killer job for the last 6 months that took 12-16 hours out of my day by the time you factor in commute . . . and I just never felt like doing anything except sleeping, bathing and feeding myself during my free time. I have a new job which is like being in heaven with so much more free time and it’s so good to be back. I love these beautiful carrots, and interesting that you made carrots a year ago too, with harissa (which I love and regularly put into my burger meat!). Cheers xx, sue

    • HI!! SO happy to hear from you and to know that you are doing well (YAY for your new job!!) and SO excited to know that you will be back on the scene! ❀ Thank you for dropping me a note. ❀ I've missed you and your blog very much. Best wishes for a fabulous 2016!!!

  5. Thanks for making these and posting! I wish I had some right now! YUM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 931 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
