Momofuku Milk Bar Corn Cookies

When my mom comes to visit, she often brings along the Food section from the Washington Post for me to peruse. 🙂 I was thrilled when she brought one that included cookie recipes from Momofuku Milk Bar!

Some of the best cookies I’ve ever made are from Momofuku Milk Bar: Momofuku Milk Bar’s Cornflake – Chocolate Chip – Marshmallow Cookies. SO GOOD!!

There was also the Milk Bar Crack Pie- which was worthy enough to make on a few occasions…

Momofuku Milk Bar recipes are held in high regard in our home! 😉 Before finally tracking it down, my husband and I went to at least 5 grocery stores to hunt down freeze-dried corn to use in this cookie batter. Knowing the recipe source, we were pretty sure that they would be worth all of the effort!

IMG_2426

This recipe was adapted from Momofuku Milk Bar by Christina Tosi, via The Washington Post. I decreased the cookie size and the resulting baking time. I weighed all of the ingredients as well. I ground the freeze-dried corn into a powder using a food processor. Yummy!!

I’m sharing these special cookies at Fiesta Friday #104– hosted by Mila @Milk and Bun and Hilda @Along the Grapevine. Enjoy!!

  • 16 T (225 g, 2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 300 g (1 1/2 cups) granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 225 g (1 1/2 cups packed) bread flour
  • 45 g (1/4 cup packed) corn flour
  • 65 g (2 oz) freeze-dried corn, ground to a powder (2/3 cups packed)
  • 3/4 tsp (3 g) baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp (1 1/2 g) baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp (6 g) kosher salt

  1. Line two large rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Using a food processor, grind the freeze-dried corn into a powder.
  3. Whisk all of the dry ingredients together in a medium bowl to combine.
  4. Combine the butter and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer, beat on medium-high speed for 2 to 3 minutes.
  5. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add the egg and beat for 7 to 8 minutes or until very light and fluffy. (Do not rush this step, as it helps the cookie dough incorporate a large amount of butter.) Stop to scrape down the bowl.
  6. On low-speed, add the bread flour, corn flour, corn powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; beat just until the dough comes together, no longer than 1 minute.
  7. Using a large cookie scoop (mine is almost 1 3/4″ in diameter), portion out the dough on one of the parchment-lined baking sheets. Pat the tops of the dough domes flat.
  8. Wrap the baking sheet tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour (or up to 1 week).
  9. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, preferably on convection.
  10. Place the chilled dough portions on the parchment-lined baking sheets, spacing at least 2 inches apart.
  11. Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until the cookies are lightly browned on the edges yet still bright yellow in the center. They will have puffed, cracked and spread.
  12. Cool the cookies completely on the baking sheets before serving or storing.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

31 responses to “Momofuku Milk Bar Corn Cookies

  1. Great cookies, I love their recipes. I feel terrible they are right near my house and I’ve never been there. Once day I will go. I am a big fan of cereal and so are they, cereal milk is my favorite thing. Love there recipes.

  2. What an interesting idea to use freeze-dried corn! We don’t have Momofuku in my area, but I’ve heard a lot about them.

  3. These sound so interesting; I’ve made cornmeal cookies before that I loved, and since this is a Momofuku recipe I know it must be delicious. They look Josette, thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Lovely Cookies Josette! Learnt something new today…momofuku 🙂

  5. Great looking cookies there Josette, I too learned something new today.

  6. Aaaaah what a funny name- momofuku! 😀 I like how it sounds!

  7. Yummy! My daughter, who lives in DC, brought several bottles of the corn powder home for the holidays so we could make crack pies…needless to say, I didn’t even use 1 whole bottle. Now I can use up more for these delicious cookies…yay! I rather like your slightly smaller version of cookie…I’ll keep that in mind when I bake them up!

  8. I love these pretty-looking cookies, they must be so delicious. I enjoy having either biscuits or cookies with a cup of tea and these would be just perfect! 😊

  9. The name of the cookies is so cute!
    And they sound delicious, too. 🙂 Happy FF104, Josette! x

  10. I am intrigued by these cookies – I would love to try them. I have to admit I have never come across freeze dried corn. I will have to look for it, and maybe will only get lucky next time I visit the USA.

  11. Pingback: Momofuku Milk Bar Corn Cookies | homethoughtsfromabroad626

  12. sarahjmir

    wow! I saw this made on tv once and have been thinking of it ever since – now I know where to get the corn from!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 919 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
