Chorizo-Potato Tacos

These tacos were so simple to prepare, I was a little bit skeptical that they would be good. But- once again– Rick Bayless didn’t let me down! (I am such a fan.) He said that chorizo is the Mexican version of bacon- it just makes everything better. In this case, a little bit went a long way. I seriously couldn’t believe how delicious they were!

This recipe was adapted from RickBayless.com. I used one pound of baby gold potatoes, jarred Frontera Jalapeño Cilantro salsa, and added feta cheese to the toppings. We ate them with sautéed greens, refried beans, and Basmati rice. Quick and fabulous!

Yield: Serves 4

  • 1 pound (16 oz) baby gold potatoes (or other boiling potatoes), unpeeled, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 12 oz fresh Mexican chorizo sausage, casing removed, about 1 link
  • 1 large white onion, cut into small pieces
  • coarse salt
  • 12 warm corn tortillas
  • 3/4 cup Frontera Roasted Tomatillo Salsa or Jalapeño Cilantro Salsa, or to taste
  • 1 avocado, pitted, flesh scooped from the skin and sliced
  • feta cheese, to taste, for serving
  • chopped cilantro, to taste, for serving

  1. Scoop the potato into a microwave-safe bowl, cover with plastic wrap, poke a few holes in the top and microwave on high for 3 minutes. (I used my new “steam ship” silicone lid which releases the steam in the microwave!)
  2. Lay the chorizo and onion in a very large (12-inch) skillet (preferably non-stick) and set over medium heat. Cook, stirring frequently and breaking up clumps, until the fat renders, the sausage looks cooked, and the onions are translucent, about 6 minutes.
  3. Scoop the potatoes, leaving the steaming liquid behind, into the skillet and continue cooking until the potatoes are soft, about 5 minutes. If the potatoes begin browning long before they’re soft, reduce the temperature a little.
  4. Taste and season with salt if you think the mixture needs it—some chorizo is so highly seasoned, little additional salt will be needed.
  5. Cover the tortillas with a damp paper towel and warm tortillas in a tortilla warmer (or on a plate tightly wrapped in plastic wrap) in the microwave for 1 minute.
  6. To serve, scoop the mixture into a deep bowl. Set out with the feta cheese, cilantro, salsa, avocado and warm tortillas.

IMG_2235 (1)

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

12 responses to “Chorizo-Potato Tacos

  1. Oh my, you are on a recipe roll! These look so tasty! I just made my own chorizo sausage a few months ago after my husband bought a meat grinder. Have you considered using Mexican Cotijo cheese in place of Feta? Their flavor profiles and texture are similar, though, so Feta is definitely a good substitute if you can’t find Cotijo.

    • BTW- I am WAY behind on my posts!! I do use feta instead of Cotijo or others- unfortunately hard to track down. :/ Good thing I’m such a feta fan! I’ve substituted Farmers Cheese as well in the past but it’s a little bland for me.

      • I know all about being way behind! I can barely get one or two out a week anymore. I’m lucky in that we have a local grocery store (and I live in a small town) that specializes in Mexican food items, so it’s handily available… Loving all your new recipes to try out!

  2. My husband loves tacos, but I have to admit, I’m getting bored of the traditional ground beef style, so this sounds like a great idea – pinned for later!

  3. These tacos look so different but so good – love chorizo – a nice spicy sausage. Rick Bayless is a favorite too 🙂

  4. Wow!!! Looks so good!!!

    Please visit my blog (www.lazymomcooking.wordpress.com) or my Instagram (lazymom_cooking) for some recipe ideas 🙂

  5. All my favorite flavors in these tacos. The jalapeno cilantro salsa sounds amazing too. I use chorizo a lot in my cooking too, it adds some real spice to it.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,001 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
