Tropical Carrot, Turmeric, & Ginger Smoothie

This smoothie is the most unusual I’ve ever made- or tasted. It’s spicy but not too spicy. Savory but not too savory- thanks to the orange and mango. Super healthy. It was very ORANGE too! 🙂

This recipe was adapted from Bon Appetit, contributed by Claire Saffitz. I substituted chia seeds for hemp seeds and dried turmeric for fresh. I was too cold to add the ice! It was a perfect lunch with a small handful of walnuts.

Yield: about 2 cups, one serving

  • 1 blood or navel orange, peel and white pith removed
  • 1 large carrot, scrubbed, coarsely chopped
  • ½ cup frozen mango chunks
  • ⅔ cup coconut water
  • 1 tablespoon shelled raw hemp seeds
  • ¾ teaspoon finely grated peeled ginger
  • 1½ teaspoons finely grated peeled turmeric
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper
  • Pinch of kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup ice
  1. Using smoothie or ice crush setting, purée orange, carrot, mango, coconut water, hemp/chia seeds, ginger, turmeric, cayenne, salt, and ½ cup ice in a blender until smooth. (I used a Vitamix.)

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

15 responses to “Tropical Carrot, Turmeric, & Ginger Smoothie

  1. That IS very orange! And so very healthy too. I had a kale smoothie once but wasn’t too fond of the veggie flavor. I think I would like this one much more, especially due to the spicy and savory part!

  2. Josette..this is delicious. I make a version of this every other day and alternate the green (kale), yellow(carrot) and red (beet) ingredient. The ginger and turmeric are always consistently there and I also throw in some lemons. Thanks for sharing and cheers 🙂

  3. Wow I think it sounds wonderful and I almost feel healthier reading the recipe. So chock full of good stuff. It’s wonderful Josette.

  4. This sounds so refreshing, Josette! 🙂 Going to pin this right away! 😉

  5. Sounds amazing. Beautiful photographs. Emma.

  6. Yum! Not only is this gorgeous, but the turmeric and ginger are inflammatory fighting agents, so they’re marvelous additions. Love it!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,027 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
