Shepherd’s Chicken Pot Pie

I’m not a corned beef and cabbage person. It’s okay! I bought some corned beef at Trader Joe’s so that my husband and son could make their St. Patrick’s Day sandwiches for lunch. 🙂

and…

Although I love a one-dish complete meal, I am also not a Shepherd’s pie person. Ugh. (I’m really not a picky eater!) But, when I saw this Shepherd’s pie twist on a chicken pot pie, I knew it would be the perfect “Irish” meal to serve on St. Patrick’s Day. We ate it with roasted asparagus and green salad- just to add some celebratory green to our meal. Great comfort food!

This recipe was adapted from Food and Wine, contributed by Scott Hocker. I increased both the chicken and garlic and modified the roasting temperature and time in order to coordinate with my roasted asparagus. I loved Hocker’s description of this dish as “a complete meal in every bite.”

Yield: Serves 6 to 8

Total Time: 1 hour

For the Potatoes:

  • 2 pounds baking potatoes (I used 3 russet potatoes)
  • coarse salt
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter

For the Filling:

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped
  • 7 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 3 large carrots, cut into chunks or chopped in a food processor
  • coarse salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 all-purpose flour
  • 3 cups chicken stock or low-sodium broth
  • 3 cups shredded rotisserie chicken
  • fresh parsley, for garnish, optional

Make the Potatoes:

  1. Peel the potatoes and cut into chunks. In a large pot, cover the potatoes with warm, salted water, then bring to a boil.
  2. Boil until the potatoes are very tender, about 25 minutes.
  3. Drain the potatoes, then mash them with the milk, butter, and salt to taste.
  4. Reserve the mashed potatoes.

Make the Filling:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425°F. (I used the convection roast setting.)
  2. Chop the garlic in a food processor, followed by the onion and then the carrots.
  3. In a large cast-iron or heavy skillet, heat the oil over medium high heat until hot, then stir in the onion, garlic, carrots, 3/4 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper.
  4. Cook, stirring occasionally, until golden, 8 to 10 minutes.
  5. Stir in the flour and cook, until incorporated, about 2 minutes.
  6. Pour in the stock and bring to a boil, then stir in the chicken. Cook until desired thickness is achieved.
  7. Season the filling with salt and pepper to taste.

Complete the Dish:

  1. Transfer the filling to a 3-quart baking dish. (I used a 9 x 13-inch casserole dish.)
  2. Spread the potatoes evenly over top of the filling.
  3. Bake the shepherd’s pie pot pie in the preheated oven until the potatoes are browned in spots and the filling is bubbling, about 15 minutes.
  4. Garnish with parsley, if desired.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

9 responses to “Shepherd’s Chicken Pot Pie

  1. Looks fab! Going to try this out tonight with a seafood filling 😀

  2. Pingback: Shepherd’s Chicken Pot Pie – Lizzy's Food Corner

  3. I would have never thought to use chicken for this dish, and what a great use of rotisserie chicken! I’m always trying to come up with something new from the leftovers. It looks very tasty, Josette!

  4. jessicanadelson

    Wow. I’m not a shepherd’s pie person either. ( although I’m restraining my comments regarding your lack of regard for corned beef☘☘) This looks yummy, I’m going to try it!

  5. Pingback: 25 Easy Rotisserie Chicken Recipes - My Natural Family

  6. Pingback: 25 Easy Rotisserie Chicken Recipes – inspiringcooks.com

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 920 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
