Chicken Paprikash

This dish was an easy, full-flavored, and hearty weeknight meal. We ate it over a whole wheat version of our new favorite bread, Sullivan Street Bakery’s No-Knead Bread. It would also be wonderful served with rice or egg noodles. Rich and delicious!!

This recipe was adapted from Food and Wine, contributed by Molly Yeh.

Yield: Serves 4

  • 4 T unsalted butter, separated
  • 2 large yellow onions, thinly sliced
  • coarse salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 8 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 T Hungarian sweet paprika
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • 2 T all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • pinch of granulated sugar
  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken thighs, trimmed and cut into 3/4-inch pieces (about 5 thighs)
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • Four 1-inch-thick slices of sourdough or other flavorful bread, toasted and torn into bite-size pieces
  1. In a large saucepan, melt 3 tablespoons of the butter.
  2. Add the onions, season with salt and pepper and cook over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, until golden and tender, about 10 minutes.
  3. Add the garlic, paprika and cayenne and cook, stirring, until dark red in color, 2 minutes.
  4. Add the flour and the remaining 1 tablespoon of butter and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes.
  5. Stir in the broth and sugar and cook until the sauce is thickened, about 2 minutes.
  6. Add the chicken to the sauce and bring to a simmer. Cook over moderately low heat until the chicken is tender, about 15 minutes.
  7. Stir in the heavy cream and season with salt and pepper.
  8. Divide the bread between bowls, spoon the chicken 
paprikash on top, and serve.

Note: The chicken paprikash can be refrigerated overnight.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

9 responses to “Chicken Paprikash

  1. This looks fabulous! I’d probably eat it over pasta. 🙂

    • Pasta would be a good call. I tried the recommended bread because it was out of the box. Tasty too! 🙂

      • My hubby and daughter ADORE bread with every meal. I have that weird mind-set that bread is just “empty calories” even though I love a fresh-baked bread. 🙂 Probably because my work place offers free bread and bagels, with butter, jam, PB, cream cheese, etc. every morning, lots of different kinds, and eating a piece of bread and butter in the morning just because it’s free doesn’t seem right, lol.

      • I actually don’t eat that much bread either. My husband eats enough for the both of us! This no-knead bread may make me a convert though. 😉 Your workplace sounds dangerous! :/

      • I know, right? I’ll be a full-time home worker by June and the temptation will be gone at that time, thank goodness!

  2. So funny…I made chicken paprika last month for the first time in years. I’ve always served mine with spaetzle, but I love your way with the toasted bread! I must try it next time. Looks fabulous, Josette!

  3. It’s been ages since I last tasted chicken paprikash. This dish is destined for my table. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,024 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
