Zucchini & Black Bean Tacos

I love a hearty vegetarian taco! This one was a wonderful way to enjoy the bounty of summer zucchini (and home-grown jalapeños!) as well.

This recipe was adapted from Martha Stewart Living. I increased the spices, steamed the tortillas, and included avocado and cilantro in the toppings. The mashed black beans, sour cream and goat cheese added wonderful creaminess to the filling. Simple, fresh and delicious.

I’m sharing this one (belatedly!) with my friends at Angie’s Fiesta Friday #134 this week. Enjoy!

Yield: Serves 4

  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 medium or large zucchini, cut into 1/2-inch rounds if medium or sliced & halved or quartered if large
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 cup finely chopped white or yellow onion (from 1 medium onion)
  • 6 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 T tomato paste
  • 1 can (15 ounces) organic black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 8 corn tortillas
  • sour cream, crumbled goat cheese, sliced radishes, pickled jalapeños and carrots, and lime wedges, for serving (I also included Trader Joe’s Fire Roasted Diced Green Chiles)
  • fresh cilantro and avocado slices, for garnish
  1. In a large skillet, heat 2 tablespoons oil over medium-high. (I used a 4-quart pan)
  2. Add zucchini in a single layer; sprinkle with cumin and coriander. Cook, turning once, until golden, about 8 minutes. Transfer to a plate. Season with salt and pepper; cover to keep warm.
  3. Reduce heat to medium and add remaining oil, onion, and garlic to skillet; cook, stirring, until softened, 5 minutes.
  4. Add tomato paste; cook 1 minute.
  5. Add beans and 1/2 cup water, season with salt and pepper, and simmer, smashing some beans with a spoon, until heated through.
  6. With tongs, toast each tortilla over a burner until charred in places; wrap in a towel. Alternatively, warm the tortillas in a microwave, covered with a damp towel and plastic wrap, for approximately one minute, or until warm and pliable. (I used my tortilla warmer with the microwave method.)
  7. Fill with sour cream, beans, zucchini, and cheese. Sprinkle with fresh cilantro.
  8. Serve, with jalapeños, carrots, radishes, avocado slices, and lime alongside, as desired.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

16 responses to “Zucchini & Black Bean Tacos

  1. Wow those look fantastic Josette! But I don’t know if I could ever subscribe my husband to a meatless taco, lol!

  2. Me too, I love vegetarian taco’s, I rarely if ever put meat in them. I will have to give these a try, love all the ingredients. Black beans are my favorite bean. I love pickled radishes as well. Delicious.

  3. They look perfect for me 🙂 great flavours!

  4. Wow, I never thought of using zucchini in tacos. I plan on making this with mini tortillas as an appetizer. Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. These sound wonderful. A great combination. When I make veg fajitas for myself, I seem to always use sweet potatoes. They’re so good with Mexican seasonings!

  6. I love the steaming of tortillas and the sound of the creaminess of the filling. Gorgeous tacos, Josette. 🙂

  7. Meatless monday here we come! I’ve slowly gotten my husband on the no meat train every few meals and I know he’d be satisfied by these!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 931 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
