Arugula Salad with Corn & Burrata

I am in love with burrata. My blog friend, Johanne @ French Gardener Dishes, just posted a fabulous (anonymous) quote about the subject, “Burrata improves the flavor of summer and the flavor of life!” Apparently, I share my fondness of the creamy cheese. 🙂

The creamy burrata added a wonderful richness to this lovely summer vegetable salad. I served it to friends for lunch along with Grilled Garlicky Eggplant Sandwiches with Basil & Feta. We -along with all of our kids- also enjoyed Back to School Blondies with an ice cream terrine inspired by Nancy @ Feasting with Friends Blog for dessert. It was quite a feast for lunch!

The salad recipe was adapted from Food and Wine, contributed by Chef Brian Clevenger of Raccolto in Seattle. I substituted edamame for the fava beans, increased the tomatoes, and omitted the mint. It was a crowd pleaser.

I’m bringing this lovely vegetable-loaded dish to share with my friends at Angie’s Fiesta Friday #136 this week hosted by Judi @ Cooking with Aunt Juju. Enjoy!

Yield: Serves 4 to 6

  • 1 cup frozen shelled, pre-cooked edamame, thawed
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3 ears of corn (preferably white), shucked and kernels cut off the cobs (3 1/2 cups)
  • coarse salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 T sherry vinegar
  • 4 ounces baby arugula (6 cups lightly packed)
  • 10 ounces mixed cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped mint, optional
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped basil
  • 8 ounces burrata cheese

  1. Place the frozen edamame on a plate or rimmed cookie sheet to thaw.
  2. Once the edamame is thawed, heat 2 tablespoons of the oil in a large skillet.
  3. Add the corn and edamame and cook over moderately high heat, stirring occasionally, just until the corn is crisp-tender, about 3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer to a plate and let cool to room temperature.
  4. In a large bowl, whisk the vinegar with the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil.
  5. Add the arugula, tomatoes, mint (if using), basil and the corn mixture and season with salt and pepper.
  6. Toss to coat, then spoon onto plates. Scoop or tear the burrata into pieces and gently spoon it onto the plates.
  7. Season with pepper and serve.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

21 responses to “Arugula Salad with Corn & Burrata

  1. I saw Johanne’s recipe too and heard of buratta for the first time. I looked it up and headed to the grocers! I can’t wait to try it and now I have two recipes – good thing I bought two containers. Your recipe is perfect timing for me and I can’t wait to try your salad and Johanne’s pasta. Happy Fiesta Friday 🙂

  2. You know I am swooning over your salad Josette! Another great way to enjoy luscious burrata! Judi, good thing you bought 2 containers: I’m posting another salad tomorrow! Thanks for the mention of the quote and link back to me Josette! xox

  3. I have not used burrata before but can’t wait to buy it now:) Thanks for this lovely salad inspiration.

  4. I will have to keep an eye out for this burrata! I keep seeing such great recipes (like this one) that uses it.

  5. jessicanadelson

    This salad has all of my favorite foods! Can’t wait to try it!

  6. When we ate at a restaurant in Eataly in NYC, we had an appetizer of straciatella (I hope I’m spelling that right) which is the INSIDE of burrata. Can you imagine???!!! Incredible. Love your salad.

  7. Gorgeous! I’m swooning! I LOVE burrata! And corn, and tomatoes, and edamame…so I know I would love this salad! 😋😋

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
