Harissa Marinade

This second belated grilling post I would like to share is a marinade which is simple to make and fabulously full-flavored. It’s hard to ask for more! 🙂

The first time I prepared it was for a farewell party for friends moving to Florida. I marinated chicken thighs and grilled them cubed, on skewers, so that it would be easier to eat them without sitting down. We served them alongside Palestinian Chicken skewers, using one of my all-time favorite marinades.

The second time, I marinated whole chicken tenders. Even easier! 🙂 Just as delicious too. This recipe was adapted from Zahav: A World of Israeli Cooking by Michael Solomon and Steven Cook. In both cases, I served the grilled chicken with Tzatziki.

  • 1 1/2 cups roughly chopped yellow onions (I used 2 medium)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup harissa (I used Whole Foods powdered harissa)
  • 3 T fresh lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs or chicken tenderloins
  • bamboo skewers, soaked in water for 30 to 6o minutes
  • tzatziki, for serving, as desired (link above)
  1. Combine the ingredients in a blender or Vitamix.
  2. Puree until the mixture is smooth and as thick as a milkshake.
  3. Toss 2 pounds of skinless, boneless, chicken thighs cut into 1-inch chunks with the marinade in a 1-gallon ziplock bag.
  4. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours or for up to 2 days.
  5. When ready to grill, wipe off the excess marinade, thread the chicken pieces on prepared skewers.
  6. Grill over direct heat until the chicken is lightly charred on the exterior and is cooked through, about 8 minutes total.
  7. Serve with tzatziki, as desired.

One Year Ago:

Two  Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

Four Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

24 responses to “Harissa Marinade

  1. This is fab! I love a good marinade and since my bf and I consume a lot of chicken, it’s always great to discover new marinades to spice things up!

  2. This sounds so flavorful and delicious Josette!

  3. Looks great Josette; harissa is on my cooking bucket list to try and I’m almost positive it’l be with chicken just like this dish 🙂

  4. Zahav is one of my favorite Philly restaurants! Great food and decor!

    Johanne Lamarche

    >

  5. I just know they would taste good!

  6. I’ll have to look for harissa powder. I didn’t know it existed!

  7. Beautiful! 🙂 thank you for sharing, it looks and sounds super delicious! 🙂

  8. This looks wonderful! I love the flavor combinations 🙂

  9. This harissa marinade sounds so tasty. I love the delicious spicy flavour and really like the idea of serving harissa chicken with tzatziki. Yum! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,043 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
