Thanksgiving Menu 2016

I apologize for the belatedness of this post. Hopefully, some of this feast will be helpful for others when organizing future (and upcoming!) holiday meal menus. I love documenting my Thanksgiving planning to help create a special meal the following year. 🙂

This was the year of the upside-down turkey! Per Martha Stewart’s suggestion, we roasted the turkey breast-side down for the first hour of cooking, and then flipped it over to brown the breast side. The thought behind this technique is that the juices during cooking seep into the white meat. The result was beautifully browned skin on the entire turkey and the juiciest turkey meat I’ve ever eaten. True. Really!

I purchased the turkey pre-brined (from Trader Joe’s) and we let it rest for a full hour before carving- factors which also possibly contributed to our successful result. It was a little scary lifting a 20 pound, 425 degree turkey- but my husband did a fabulous job. 🙂 Great!

My in-laws brought (and gave us <3) their beautiful wedding china and crystal. So, we dined elegantly in style! So much more fancy to eat the feast on formal plates. 🙂

I’ve posted our menu below and will fill in the links as soon as I am able. Happy Belated Thanksgiving! Happy Holidays!

Thanksgiving Eve Eve:

Thanksgiving Eve:

Thanksgiving Day:

Breakfast:

Lunch:

Dinner:

Leftover Dishes:

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

Four Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

10 responses to “Thanksgiving Menu 2016

  1. Okay now I am hungry. You feed your guest well. You are not late just early for next year. Have a great week!!

  2. jessicanadelson

    The very idea that you serve your guests breakfast , lunch and dinner on Thanksgiving!…….you have some VERY lucky house guests!

  3. Your menu sounds AMAZING! Where do I sign up to become a house guest?! 😛

  4. Incredible meals! This could be used for any holiday!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 978 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
