Baked Spinach Rice

Yes! More baked rice! ๐Ÿ™‚ SO so SO delicious!! This one is loaded with cheese. It is meant to be served as an indulgent side dish, but we ate it as a main dish with a green salad. I loved it. It had fabulous contrasting textures.

This recipe was adapted from The New York Times, contributed by David Tanis. This wonderful dish is an upgrade of one of his favorite family casseroles.

Yield: 6 servings

  • 1 pound spinach (about 2 bunches), washed
  • 1 ยฝ cups long-grain white rice, such as Carolina, Jasmine, orย Basmati
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons butter, plus more to butter the baking dish
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan
  • ยฝ cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cup ricotta
  • 1 cup grated Gruyรจre
  • ยผ cup currants or raisins
  • pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon chopped thyme
  • 1 teaspoon chopped sage
  1. Bring a large pot of well-salted water to a boil. Add spinach and wilt for 30 seconds. Remove with a wire mesh spider or tongs and rinse in a colander with cold water. Squeeze dry and chop roughly.
  2. In the same pot, boil the rice for 10 minutes, keeping it slightly underdone. Drain and spread on a baking sheet to cool, then transfer to a large bowl.
  3. Heat oven to 375 degrees, preferably on convection.
  4. Butter a 2-quart soufflรฉ dish (or other baking dish) and dust with about 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan.
  5. Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a small skillet over medium heat. Add almonds and cook, stirring, until golden, about 2 minutes. Season lightly with salt and add contents of skillet to rice.
  6. Add remaining Parmesan to rice, along with the ricotta, Gruyรจre, currants, nutmeg, lemon zest, thyme and sage. Season lightly with salt and add pepper to taste.
  7. Add chopped spinach and gently toss rice with hands or wooden spoons to distribute ingredients evenly.
  8. Transfer mixture to prepared baking dish. (May be prepared up to this point several hours in advance of baking.)
  9. Cover and bake for 25 to 30 minutes, then uncover and bake 10 minutes more, until top is browned.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

Four Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

19 responses to “Baked Spinach Rice

  1. Huge fan of David Tanis, he speaks, I listen… and then I eat ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I can see how this marvelous rice with a salad could be a great dinner…

  2. Wow two great rice dishes in row! My hubby would demand some protein at that point, lol! Looks fab, especially with spinach and cheese.

  3. Looks DELISH!!!! I will be trying this week! Thanks for sharing!!! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

  4. Rice is probably my favorite food, but I have never baked it! This dish sounds wonderful . Cheesy and full of marvelous flavor. This will be great to cook for my veggie gluten-free daughter too!

  5. Sometime all you need for a great meal is an indulgent side and a simple green salad. Looks divine and if you ever looking for a spin on rice you might enjoy this post on cauliflower rice.
    https://reallifeofanmsw.com/2016/10/09/3704/

  6. That looks so good!!! I don’t eat much rice, but I’d eat that!!

  7. This is so great! I love all of the ingredients. I only use brown rice at home, but fortunately I can get brown basmati, so that’s an easy substitute!

  8. It’s must be something in the air.. I made almost identical spinach rice on Saturday (mine was from Delicious magazine) The one I made didn’t have such a variety of cheese though. We ate it with lamb meatballs. I’m gonna try your version next time, because I like how cheesy it sounds, also addition of raisins is always great in my book. Thank you, Josette ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 978 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
