If I Knew You were Coming I’d Have Baked a Cake

I love to cook and above all love trying new recipes. In general, I am a very organized person, but somehow my recipe collection has become unmanageable! This blog (my first adventure on the blogosphere) will not only be a way to share successful recipes with family and friends, but also a way to organize recipes for myself.

I enjoy planning my menu around the freshest seasonal produce available, so I joined a CSA program through the Golden Earthworm Organic Farm in Jamesport, New York. Every week, this farm gives us boxes of fruit and vegetables that were in the earth the morning they were delivered. This has changed how my family eats. Planning delicious meals around the ingredients I receive in the box each week is fun, healthy, and, most importantly, gives me some direction.

Thanks for stopping by! I hope you enjoy the seasonal recipes as much as I did making them.

–  Josette “TheBrookCook” 🙂

“If I knew you were coming I’d have baked a cake….”

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

21 responses to “If I Knew You were Coming I’d Have Baked a Cake

  1. Congratulations! I’ve nominated you for the Shine On Award – read more about it here: http://eatingmyfeelings.com/2014/01/21/eating-my-feelings-receives-shine-on-award/

    Thanks for sharing your delicious food!! I absolute adore your blog.

  2. Thank you for sharing all your delicious recipes with us. I have been enjoying your blog so much these past few weeks and am looking forward to cooking lots of your recipes in the future!

  3. I love your tagline, your recipes and your eye for detail 🙂

  4. Hello, thanks for the like on my blog. Just had a quick scroll on yours and your food looks amazing. I’ll have a better look once the kids have gone to bed.

  5. Josette, first of all, love your name! I have a younger sister and her middle name is also Josette. You are the first person I’ve heard with this name other than my sis. 🙂 Love your bio. It’s always great to meet bloggers that inspire through their food and cooking. I look forward to reading more and seeing more of your delicious food.

  6. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

  7. I don’t do CSA but I love cooking with fresh proudue and having access to a a year round outdoor farmers market. I think you might enjoy this post

    Tomatillos Meet Roasted Salsa Verde

  8. Wow! Thank you for you shopping tip, I will try it immediately!
    It’ so difficult to find fresh products in New York, except for some farmer’s markets.
    I will try your recipes 🙂

  9. Hi Josette! I have a question for you if you don’t mind. You take really nice pictures of the food you create. I love your pictures and your styling. 🙂 Are you a self-taught photographer? Do you have any sources that you read about photography that you would recommend? 🙂 Thank you in advance.

  10. Donna

    Dear Josette,
    Thank you for your recipes and details, especially the rotisserie chicken recipes. You have developed an impressive section for them. I say that because I hunt for these!

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
One-Pan Orzo with Spinach & Feta
Fettuccine Alfredo with Chili Crisp & Spinach
Churro Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
Peruvian Stir-Fried Chicken & Noodles (Tallarín Saltado)
Veggie-Loaded Pad See Ew
Ethiopian Chickpea Stew (Shiro Wat) & Stewed Collard Greens (Gomen Wat)
Ravneet Gill's Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge