Speculoos

IMG_7828

I am not a fan of packaged cookies- my one exception is Biscoff. I LOVE them! When I saw this bakery version of my favorite spiced shortbread cookie from Belgium, I could barely wait to make them. This recipe is from Bouchon Bakery by Thomas Keller and Sebastien Rouxel. To be just like Thomas Keller, I followed all of the instructions precisely including his method to roll out the dough. The dough is pounded with a rolling-pin to flatten it during the rolling process in order to prevent cracking- it worked quite well! Because I also wanted to present mine just like Thomas Keller, I sprinkled the cookies with powdered sugar just before serving. 🙂 The dough could also be topped with turbinado sugar prior to baking. (next time!) I cooked some of the cookies until the edges were lightly brown and others a little bit longer. All were delicious, but I preferred the cookies that cooked slightly longer as they were more reminiscent of crispy Biscoff. GREAT!

I am bringing this dessert to Fiesta Friday (#6) over at The Novice Gardener this week- visit to check out the party! A FEAST 🙂

  • 3/4 cup (104 g) all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 1/2 T (74 g) cake flour
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 T (74 g) whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp (1.3 g) baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp (1.3 g) ground cinnamon
  • 3/8 tsp (1.3 g) Kosher salt
  • 1/3 cup (74 g) dark brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 1/4 tsp (59 g) granulated sugar
  • 1 1/8 tsp (8 g) Clover honey
  • 6.2 oz (177 g) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • powdered sugar for dusting or turbinado sugar for sprinkling
  1. Place the all-purpose flour in a medium bowl and sift in the cake and whole wheat flours. Break up any lumps of flour remaining in the sieve and add them to the bowl. Sift in the baking soda and cinnamon. Add the salt and whisk together.
  2. Combine both sugars in a bowl and whisk to break up any lumps. Using a fork, stir in the honey.
  3. Place the butter in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Turn to medium-low speed and cream the butter until smooth.
  4. Add the sugar mixture and mix for about 2 minutes, until fluffy. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl.
  5. Add the dry ingredients in 2 additions, mixing on low-speed for 15 to 30 seconds after each, or until just combined. Scrape the bottom of the bowl to incorporate any dry ingredients that have settled there.
  6. Mound the dough on the work surface and, using the heel of your hand or a pastry scraper, push it together into a 4- by 6-inch block. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or, preferably, overnight.
  7. Position the racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven and preheat the oven to 325 degrees. (I used convection.) Line two sheet pans with Silpats or parchment paper.
  8. Unwrap the dough and place it between two pieces of parchment paper or plastic wrap. With a rolling-pin, pound the top of the dough, working from left to right, to begin to flatten it, then turn the dough 90 degrees and repeat. (This will prevent the dough from cracking as it is rolled.) Roll out to just under 1/8 inch thick. If the dough has softened, slide it (in the parchment) onto the back of a sheet pan and refrigerate until firm enough to cut into cookies.
  9. Using a decorative cutter (they would be pretty as snowflakes), cut out the cookies and arrange them on the prepared sheet pans, leaving about 3/4 inch between them. If necessary, push the trimmings together, refrigerate until firm, and reroll. If the dough softens, return it to the refrigerator until the cookies are firm enough to transfer to the sheet pans. (I cut the shapes, stack them with plastic wrap between each layer, and refrigerate for 1-2 hours (or overnight) prior to baking.)
  10. Bake the cookies until golden brown, 13 to 15 minutes, reversing the positions of the pans halfway through baking. Set the pans on a cooling rack and cool for 5 to 10 minutes, then transfer the cookies to the rack to cool completely.
  11. The cookies can be stored in a covered container for up to 3 days. Just before serving, sift powdered sugar over the cookies.

One Year Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

50 responses to “Speculoos

  1. Mmmmm, they look and sounds like delicious german cookies I used to get when I lived there. love all the cinnamon!

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #6 | The Novice Gardener

  3. These look awesome! I love the idea of a spiced shortbread cookie. Some call me the ‘Spice Queen’ so I’m sure you can understand why the idea of combining delicious spices with a buttery cookie entices me. Such beautiful cookies, too!

    • My first introduction was eating Biscoff on an airplane— THE BEST! I think you would love these. Thanks for the compliment on the shape– I have hundreds of cookie cutters but had trouble picking a shape. 🙂 I think snowflakes would have been pretty but I am so tired of snow!! 🙂

  4. I agree with you on packaged cookies! These cookies look so pretty and I’m sure they’re delicious as well!

    • Thank you!! One of my kids friends did a science experiment to see how long it would take different packaged cookies to dissolve in milk… it took one hour and eight minutes for a Chips Ahoy to dissolve! What is in there? Scary 🙂

  5. You did a great job with these! They look very professional!

  6. Beautiful cookies and quite an end to a full week of delicious recipes here on your blog! Your cooking and baking amazes me. Have a lovely weekend!

  7. Mmmm. Spiced shortbread – I don’t think I’ve ever tried it, but I’m going to bookmark this one and try it for sure! Lovely!

  8. I often buy these deliciously spiced cookies, imported from Holland or Germany. I love them, I am pinning your recipe 😉

  9. I love Biscoff cookies as well! Your cookies are so perfect and pretty. I’ll take three dozen please!! 😀

  10. These look lovely. And I am so intrigued by the 1 1/8tsp of clover honey!

  11. Speculoos or speculaas, I love them! And I don’t have the recipe for them, so thank you for this. They’re very pretty, by the way, and I think snowflake speculoos would be so beautiful. I’ll have to keep that in mind. You really have a collection of great recipes, Josette! Your blog is quickly becoming my go-to source! 🙂

  12. I love Biscoff too! Even the biscoff cookie butter with a spoon keeps me busy for longer than it should! These are wonderful! Love your photograph too.

  13. My daughter just introduced me to Biscoff…I’m so glad she did! I think I might surprise her with these cookies.. If they are reminiscent of Biscoff, I know that we will both love them!! Wonderful recipe!! Lovely photo!!

  14. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I love Biscoff cookies also! Did you know they have a spread (like Nutella) of the cookie? Oh goodness, it is like crack! Once you try it, you’ll throw out your peanut butter… I may need to join an anonymous Biscoff spread group. .. 🍯🍪

    • too funny… I did use that spread in the BEST ice cream I’ve ever made- Biscoff Crunch (cookies) & Swirl (the spread) in vanilla bean ice cream…. YUM! The link is at the end of this post- a MUST for Biscoff lovers 🙂

  15. OMG! I’m not a cookie person myself, but my exception are also speculoos, I just can’t get enough. However, it’s the first time I see a recipe to make them at home, thank you so much for sharing!

    • You are welcome! 🙂 This is the first recipe I have seen as well… although to tell you the truth I didn’t know that Biscoff were a type of speculoos until recently! 🙂 Try this recipe- it is very precise and worked perfectly!

  16. Those cookies sound yummy and they’re so cute! Anything that tastes like Biscoff has got to be good! 🙂

  17. This photo really pulls the reader in. Now I must try your recipe. Beautiful!

  18. MB

    Oh how I love speculoos! So much so that I recently created an apple pie with a speculoos-inspired crumble, which was pretty amazing, I have to say… I’ll have to tuck this recipe away for the next time I’m craving cookies… Your photography is gorgeous… thanks for the post. If you’d like to check out the pie: http://bourbonandbrownsugar.wordpress.com/2014/02/18/apple-pie-with-speculoos-crumble/

  19. huntfortheverybest

    they look great!

  20. Pingback: Made In: Tel Aviv Shira Keret Mortar and Pestel - Countlan Magazine

  21. Beauteous. I love his cookbooks. Have you been to any of his restaurants? I did go to the French Laundry and was sadly disappointed. In fairness, he was in process of opening Bouchon.

    • Only Bouchon Bakery in Columbus Circle NYC. We got takeout something- expensive and underwhelming… I don’t know if it was fair to judge based on what we got though. (I don’t remember what we got!!) I would gladly go back! 🙂

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
One-Pot Crispy Gnocchi with Burst Tomatoes & Fresh Mozzarella
Ottolenghi's Butternut Squash Lasagna Pie
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Churro Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
Oven-Baked Pearl Couscous with Roasted Tomatoes, Chickpeas & Feta
Ethiopian Chickpea Stew (Shiro Wat) & Stewed Collard Greens (Gomen Wat)
One-Pan Orzo with Spinach & Feta
Ina Garten's Wild Mushroom & Farro Soup
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge