Frozen Blackberry Margarita

IMG_4723

We have been having fun this summer branching out from our usual cocktails. I am not usually partial to a frozen margarita, but this slushy one was tasty and had such amazing color! Perfect for a summer night. This recipe was adapted from the New York Times. We made them a little sweeter (using agave nectar) and less potent. Great!

Yield: Makes 1 large or 2 small drinks

  • 6 large blackberries, plus 1 to garnish each drink
  • 1 1/2 ounces tequila
  • 1 ounce Grand Marnier
  • 2 T lime juice (about 1 lime)
  • 2 T agave nectar or simple syrup
  • 1 1/2 cups ice
  • mixture of coarse salt and sugar for glass rims
  • lime wheels, optional
  1. Blend all of the ingredients (except garnish: salt, sugar, lime wheels) until smooth and frosty.
  2. Run a lime wedge along rims of margarita glasses and dip into salt-sugar mixture.
  3. Pour the blended drink, garnish with blackberries and lime wheels, if desired.
About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

11 responses to “Frozen Blackberry Margarita

  1. Ooh, I would so love this!!

  2. Pingback: Frozen Blackberry Margarita | A Curious Gal

  3. Yum…I haven’t had alcohol since June so that’s calling my name…well, I’d probably even go for a shot of tequila followed by a blackberry chaser πŸ™‚

  4. Awesome. We love margaritas here:)

  5. I just wanted to let you know I nominated you for the inspiring blogger award. You can check out all the details at this link!
    http://nevertrusttheskinnycook.wordpress.com/2013/08/16/very-inspiring-blog-award/

  6. I’m going to try this ASAP. Our neighbor has a huge blackberry patch. There was only one part of the recipe I didn’t understand… What is a ‘small drink’? =-D

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 997 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
