Ottolenghi’s Chicken with Caramelized Onions & Cinnamon-Cardamom Rice

This dish was a HUGE hit! We were all fighting over the leftovers!! 🙂 It’s a great dish to feed a crowd. I substituted boneless, skinless chicken thighs for a whole chicken, ground cardamom for cardamom pods, and golden raisins for barberries or currants. The resulting dish was full-flavored with perfectly cooked Basmati rice and very tender chicken. I LOVE one pot meals- and anything with caramelized onions. The addition of fresh parsley, dill and cilantro added color and brightness. This recipe was adapted from “Jerusalem: A Cookbook” by by Yotam Ottolenghi and Sami Tamimi, via the New York Times. In order for the chicken and rice to be cooked perfectly, the chicken must be seared and browned before adding to the rice and the water must be boiling before adding to the dish, covering, and completing the cooking process. No one in my crowd opted to top the dish with Greek yogurt- maybe next time. DELICIOUS!!

Time: 1 hour, plus 30 minutes cooking and 10 minutes resting

Yield: 4 to 6 servings

IMG_5122

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons barberries, currants, dried cranberries, or golden raisins (25 grams)
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 2 medium onions, thinly sliced (2 cups/250 grams)
  • 2 1/4 pounds skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs (1 kilogram), or 1 whole chicken, quartered, or 10 boneless, skinless chicken thighs (about 3 pounds)
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 10 cardamom pods or 1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • rounded 1/4 teaspoon whole cloves
  • 2 long cinnamon sticks, broken in two
  • 1 2/3 cups white Basmati rice (300 grams)
  • 2 1/4 cups boiling water (550 milliliters)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons flat-leaf parsley leaves, chopped
  • 1/2 cup dill leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 cup cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 1/3 cup Greek yogurt (100 grams), mixed with 2 tablespoons olive oil (optional topping)
  1. If using barberries: Put 3 T (40 grams) sugar and scant 3 tablespoons water in a small saucepan and heat until the sugar dissolves. Remove from the heat, add the barberries, and set aside to soak. If using currants, cranberries, or golden raisins you do not need to soak them in this way.
  2. Meanwhile, heat 2T olive oil in a large sauté pan for which you have a lid over medium heat. Add the onion, and cook for 10 to 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the onion has turned a deep golden brown. Transfer the onion to a small bowl and wipe the pan clean.
  3. Place the chicken in a large mixing bowl and season with 1½ teaspoons each salt and black pepper. Add the remaining 2T olive oil, cardamom, cloves and cinnamon and use your hands to mix everything together well. Heat the frying pan again and place the chicken and spices in it. Sear chicken for 4 to 5 minutes on each side and remove from the pan (this is important as it par-cooks the chicken). The spices can stay in the pan, but don’t worry if they stick to the chicken. Remove most of the remaining oil as well, leaving just a thin film at the bottom. Add the rice, caramelized onion, 1 teaspoon salt and plenty of black pepper. Drain the barberries, if using, and add them as well; otherwise add the dried fruit being used. Stir well and return the seared chicken to the pan, pushing it into the rice.
  4. Pour the boiling water over the rice and chicken, cover the pan, and cook over very low heat for 30 minutes. Take the pan off the heat, remove the lid, quickly place a clean tea towel over the pan, and seal again with the lid. Leave the dish undisturbed for another 10 minutes. Finally, add the herbs and use a fork to stir them in and fluff up the rice. Taste and add more salt and pepper if needed. Serve hot or warm with yogurt mixture if you like.
 IMG_0073
If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

28 responses to “Ottolenghi’s Chicken with Caramelized Onions & Cinnamon-Cardamom Rice

  1. I’ve had this one marked for a while – thanks for sharing and confirming that it tastes as good as it looks! Ill get round it it soon 🙂

  2. Yum! And this is my (and my daughter’s cookware!) Great ideas. Thank you~

  3. This is one of my current favourite cookbooks (am a huge fan of Ottolenghi) and have made this – it’s wonderful!

  4. This looks so good! I love your blog! So many tasty looking recipes and photos! Thanks for stopping by my blog so I could discover yours!! 😉

  5. Ottolenghi: I have all of his cookbooks. An amazing, Jewish chef! 🙂 Love your blog – you are a great cook. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Simple Roasted Chicken - Give Recipe

  7. Chau Le

    This looks…amazing. Warm, feeling, cozy, conjures up memories of home! Yum, I can’t wait to try this recipe out!

  8. Chau Le

    *filling, lol

  9. That’s the one cookbook of his that I don’t have at the moment. Thanks for the post, looks delicious and I have pinned it.

  10. I had to come over and take a peek at this recipe…very interesting! I haven’t used cardamom much…but I do love it! This sounds great! I’ve written it down on my recipes to try list!

  11. For some reason, I have cooked this twice and the rice is hard in some places. I’m pretty good a nailing recipes first time. I did exactly as the recipe instructed in a Le Cruset Dutch oven. Any tips on what is going wrong for me?

    • I know that using boiling water is very important- as is using white instead of brown rice. The only other issue I can think of is that the heat was too high after adding the rice. It should be placed over the lowest heat possible. Hope this helps!

  12. Helen

    I wanted to know how to prepare this dish so you only have to reheat it. I am trying it again and will brown the chicken and put it aside until my company comes. Adding the rice and hot water at that time. Any other thoughts

    • I haven’t prepared the dish in advance but I agree that completing all of the steps prior to adding the rice ahead of time would be a good plan. Just finish the dish at the last minute. I hope it’s a success and that you & your friends enjoy it!

  13. Hello!

    Thank you for this adaptation of the Ottolenghi recipe. I wanted to try the original but wasn’t sure if boneless thighs would work well — thank you for the advice you shared! I’m going to make it this evening.

  14. Hi, I have made this recipe many times and love it! My question though is regarding the Le Creuset braiser in your pics. Is it the 3.5- or 5-qt one?

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Peruvian Stir-Fried Chicken & Noodles (Tallarín Saltado)
Ottolenghi's Butternut Squash Lasagna Pie
White Lasagna with Asparagus, Spinach & Peas
Portuguese Rolls
Ethiopian Chickpea Stew (Shiro Wat) & Stewed Collard Greens (Gomen Wat)
Oven-Baked Pearl Couscous with Roasted Tomatoes, Chickpeas & Feta
Spicy Coconut Grilled Chicken Thighs
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge