Mini-Cheesecakes

IMG_8306

I live in fear of overcooking my baked goods… and I usually shorten the baking time stated in a recipe, especially because I bake on convection. I made these mini-cheesecakes twice because the first time I made them they were undercooked! They were still edible (of course!) and tasty, but not perfect enough to give to my friend for her birthday. 🙂 (We have been eating a lot of cheesecake lately… so glad they are “mini” portion-sized!!) It was difficult to tell that they were undercooked until after they were chilled- I had baked them until they were puffed and set.

For the second batch, I increased the baking time and added two pinches of salt. Thank goodness (…for many reasons… could/should we eat another batch?) they were cooked perfectly. 🙂 They are pure and simple. Perfect to give to my cheesecake-purist friend for her birthday!! …and to bring to Fiesta Friday #11 at the Novice Gardener! This recipe was adapted from Carla Hall of The Chew. She baked them in mini-muffin pans (with 1 teaspoon of crust, baked for 10 minutes) with optional toppings which would be great for a party. A fun touch was to serve them inverted- mine with a fork, my husband’s with a spoon. To each his own! 🙂 Nice!

Yield: Makes 8 mini-cheesecakes

  • 4 honey graham crackers
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 8-ounce package cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 6 T  granulated sugar
  • 2 1/2 T milk (I used 1 percent)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup sour cream, at room temperature
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 2 pinches of coarse salt
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (convection)(175 degrees C).
  2. Place graham crackers in the bowl of a food processor and pulse to crush. Add melted butter and pulse until the butter is evenly distributed.
  3. Place liners (I used parchment paper liners) into muffin tins and press 1 1/2 tablespoons of the graham cracker mixture into the bottom of each. Using the bottom of a glass, compact the crumbs to form a crust.
  4. In a large bowl, mix cream cheese with sugar until smooth.
  5. Blend in milk, and then mix in the egg, mixing just enough to incorporate. Mix in sour cream, vanilla and flour until smooth.
  6. Scoop or pour filling on top of crusts. (I use a cookie scoop.)
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 17 minutes, or until puffed, set, and slightly brown on the edges. Cool to room temperature, then chill in refrigerator until serving.
  8. Serve inverted. Can top with berries or chocolate sauce, if desired.

One Year Ago:

If you like this you may also like:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

78 responses to “Mini-Cheesecakes

  1. So perfectly cute, Josette! I love cheesecakes and I want so very much to take a bite out of one of these. Yes, for breakfast! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #11 | The Novice Gardener

  3. I am so making it Josette and this weekend! My daughters love cheesecake.

  4. Your intro really made me smile: I´m also known as the under-cook here in my house, always afraid to overcook and be disappointed with the result, which aside from cake is also a major sin to me when it comes to beef, tuna steaks , and so on…! Love your recipe, using crackers as a pastry is something I´ve never tried – I think I should!!

  5. These look great, Josette! I still have never even tried to make cheesecakes. Perhaps I will try your mini version first, since they are a great size and would be easier to handle I think. I’m not an undercooker–I’m an overcooker. Anything that goes in the oven might get burned because I sometimes get distracted. Lol, live and learn! Have a great Friday!

    • Thanks 🙂 Cheesecake is actually super easy to make! It’s my husband’s favorite- so I make him one for his birthday every year. I have posted THE BEST cheesecake ever- now the only one he will eat for his birthday- it’s Vanilla Bean Cheesecake. Try that after these 🙂

  6. Lovely mini-cheesecakes Josette! I love that the recipe makes just eight of them too. Those would get eaten in my house in no time!

  7. These are divine little cakes – perfect servings!

  8. I love that these are mini – that means I can eat 2 or 3 right??

  9. These cheesecakes are so cute and I can finish one in two bites! 😀 I think you should make another batch for the coming guests as they will be gone in no time! 🙂

  10. They look really delish, and I like the small size too. Will try this weekend with some egg replacer!

  11. A great way to make cheesecake! Little. I’ll have to make these too! I don’t need to refer to my cook books anymore. I’ll just keep visiting your blog for inspiration and great recipes! Still thinking about the Papardelle!

  12. How cute! I love anything mini…and what a great idea to serve it upside down too 🙂

  13. I’m the exact same way with baking- I’m TERRIFIED of over-aking my cakes, cookies, breads- all of it. 99% of the time that fear is unjustified lol.

    These look really good though., great job 🙂

  14. Looks yummy and i like the i have my very own whole cake idea, hehe..just because i am greedy x

  15. Hi Josette. These are perfect for a party! I love the idea of the individual cakes and in a really competitive household it eliminates the “Hey, you got a bigger piece than me” syndrome! 😀

  16. Cheesecakes are the best. Love them bite-sized!

  17. angenette

    Now I know what I’m making for dessert this weekend 😉

  18. How cute! It looks perfect and I sense that I would eat more than one if I made these 🙂

  19. That’s so funny, Josette. I have the same exact fear! I am horribly afraid of dried out baked goodies and have a tendency of underbaking things. Hehe! Your mini cheesecakes are so cute. May I please eat one with each hand? 😉

  20. Wow! Interesting recipe.Soon I’m trying this out .

  21. There is nothing worse than an overcooked baked good!! I’m with you..I usually undercook mine too! My stove and microwave are fairly new, and both of them are also convection. I haven’t ever used convection, and have no idea how to use them! One of these days I have to learn.

    About your cheesecakes… they’re gorgeous. Such a pretty dessert…perfect for after a very nice dinner!! I’m bookmarking this recipe..I really need to try them! Awesome post. 🙂

    • I LOVE LOVE LOVE using convection to bake– and I also love convection roast… you must use it! 🙂 Please let me know if you try these.. at least you have the corrected baking time for your convection oven! 🙂

  22. They look delicious Josette, YUM 🙂 I know what you mean about over baking. The first time I ever make a recipe I always set the time for 15 -20 mess than what the recipe says. Then I stand next to the oven for the remaining time until I know how my oven cooks the recipe.

    I love cheesecake and make one or two at least ever week, they don’t last long at our house! Check out the cheesecake I made my wife for Valentine’s Day!

    Michael 🙂

    Strawberry Topped Cheesecake

    • Glad to hear that I’m not the only one hovering by the oven… setting the timer repeatedly for ONE minute! 🙂

      Your cheesecake is GORGEOUS!!! I bookmarked the recipe- I REALLY want the brownie crust ASAP!! 🙂 What a lovely Valentine’s Day dessert for your lucky wife 🙂

  23. Love the look of these mini cheesecakes Josette! Pure, Simple & delectable 🙂

  24. I’m with you on not over baking cheesecakes, yours look gorgeous, I could dig in with a fork, or just use my hands! 🙂
    Actually, have you tried Christina Tosi’s liquid cheesecake? It sounds really interesting..

    • I don’t know anything about liquid cheesecake… I will have to check it out… It scares me a little though- like no bake cheesecake 🙂

      • No bake cheesecake just seems strange, maybe because the only “real” cheesecake in our house is the New York cheesecake.
        I think liquid cheesecake is under-baked, which also sounds strange, but all those fans can’t be wrong? 🙂

  25. Ah, cheesecakes are one of my favorite desserts. I would ask for them on my birthdays instead of traditional cakes many years. I love your petite versions!

  26. jess

    Well, these cheesecakes certainly got a huge response from your devotees! However, only I am the fabulously lucky one to receive them for my birthday!!! The BEST present. Had to fight the whole family for them and repeatedly explain they were a GIFT FOR ME!!! (I may even have hidden the last one behind some Swiss Chard in the vegetable drawer) Not on my top ten list of benevolent Mommy moments!!! BUT…….when it comes to something so delicious and perfect, you gotta do what you gotta do! Thank you my friend! You’re the best!

  27. Very nice little cakes… I love simple cheesecake recipes like this one 🙂

  28. Pingback: Some Catching up and some of this and some of that ! | simplyvegetarian777

  29. Pingback: Spaghetti Nests | simplyvegetarian777

  30. Pingback: Chocolate Cheesecake | simplyvegetarian777

  31. Pingback: Guest Post : Raw Baby Red Kale Salad with Chiles & Pecorino by Josette of “The Brook Cook” | simplyvegetarian777

  32. Pingback: Rakshabandhan Special Menu, Day 3 and bringing 4 Menus : Italian & American Kitchen and South Indian Platter | simplyvegetarian777

  33. Pingback: Strawberry Mini-cheesecakes – a Mother’s Day Special (gluten-free, vegan) | EATING WELL DIARY

  34. I don’t know if you’ll get a pingback, Josette, but I made my version of a mini-cheesecake and used your idea of presenting it. Love this very useful post!

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
One-Pot Crispy Gnocchi with Burst Tomatoes & Fresh Mozzarella
Churro Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Oven-Baked Pearl Couscous with Roasted Tomatoes, Chickpeas & Feta
Ottolenghi's Butternut Squash Lasagna Pie
Ethiopian Chickpea Stew (Shiro Wat) & Stewed Collard Greens (Gomen Wat)
Fettuccine Alfredo with Chili Crisp & Spinach
Chicago Public School Butter Cookies
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge