Buckwheat Popovers

My family is happy to eat soup and salad for dinner with a bribe like a warm, eggy popover. This version was earthy and delicious. I had to make them a couple of times to get the baking temperature and cooking times just right. (No worries, we ate the less than perfect ones too. 😉 )

This recipe was adapted from the New York Times, contributed by Melissa Clark. We enjoyed them with Spiced Red Lentil Soup, but they would also be wonderful for breakfast with butter and jam.

Yield: 6 Popovers

  • 1 cup/236 milliliters whole milk, at room temperature
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted melted butter, plus more for pans (or use cooking spray)
  • 1 teaspoon granulated sugar
  • ½ teaspoon fine sea salt
  • ¾ cup/90 grams all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons buckwheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons whole-wheat flour

  1. Heat oven to 425 degrees, preferably on convection.
  2. Brush cups of a popover pan (or muffin tin) with butter or coat with cooking spray. (I have had more success with cooking spray.)
  3. In a large measuring pitcher with a spout (this makes pouring easier later), or in a bowl, whisk together milk, eggs, butter, sugar and salt until frothy.
  4. Add flours and whisk until mostly smooth, though a few clumps may remain in batter, which is fine. (If you prefer you can mix everything together in a blender instead of a bowl.)
  5. Pour batter into prepared cups. Bake 15 minutes.
  6. Turn heat down to 350 degrees and bake another 10 minutes until popovers are golden brown and puffed. (Reduce baking time by 5 minutes if using a muffin tin.) Keep tabs on their progress by looking through the window in the oven door. Do not open the oven door until the last 5 minutes of baking or they won’t puff.
  7. Serve warm.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

Four Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

24 responses to “Buckwheat Popovers

  1. Great idea to go with soup.
    I understand the need to eat the less than perfect ones…… One of my practical exams when I was in culinary school had me doing a souffle……… I made so many imperfect ones that my family almost shot me because they had to eat them… lol

  2. This is perfect! I was just trying to come up with something to serve with my pot of soup tonight and voila you came to my blog and I found you! I’ll be trying these out post haste!

  3. Those are just gorgeous Josette! I’d eat the imperfect ones too. 🙂

  4. I love buckwheat. The popovers look so glorious in comparison to traditional breads. Lovely recipe!

  5. How beautiful! I’ve never made popovers!

  6. When i saw the name of this recipe, I got a little worried. I’m not a HUGE fan of buckwheat. But at only 2 tablespoons, all is good. I think it comes from my hippy times when everyone i knew was a vegetarian, and buckwheat groats were what people ate for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I like pancakes with some buckwheat flour, but not too much!

  7. Im definitely trying this recipe. Ive been struggling to bake with buckwheat but this recipe looks like I might make it work;)

  8. New to me! Are they a version of Yorkshire puddings?

  9. Pingback: Buckwheat Popovers | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Italian Sausage & Mushroom Ragu with Pappardelle
Ottolenghi's Butternut Squash Lasagna Pie
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Ravneet Gill's Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies
Roasted Cauliflower Shawarma with Tahini Sauce
One-Pan Orzo with Spinach & Feta
Oven-Baked Pearl Couscous with Roasted Tomatoes, Chickpeas & Feta
Samin Nosrat's Buttermilk-Brined Roast Chicken
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge