One-Pan Shrimp Scampi with Orzo

This is an incredibly full-flavored one-pan dish. I made it when my mom was visiting because she is such a fan of shrimp. She loved it! 🙂

This recipe was adapted from The New York Times, contributed by Ali Slagle. Fast and fabulous.

  • 1 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined, patted dry
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon zest plus 1 tablespoon juice (from 1 lemon)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon red-pepper flakes
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced, divided
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 cup orzo
  • cup dry white wine
  • 2 cups boiling water, seafood stock, or chicken stock
  • 3 tablespoons finely chopped parsley
  1. In a medium bowl, stir together the shrimp, 1 tablespoon olive oil, the lemon zest, red-pepper flakes, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper and half the garlic. Set aside to marinate (this step can be done up to 1 hour in advance).
  2. To a medium skillet, add the butter, the remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil and remaining minced garlic; heat over medium.
  3. When the butter starts to bubble, add the orzo and 1/2 teaspoon salt and cook, stirring often, until the orzo is toasted, about 2 minutes, adjusting the heat as necessary to prevent the garlic from burning.
  4. Carefully add the wine (it will bubble) and stir until absorbed, about 1 minute.
  5. Stir in the water or stock, reduce heat to low, cover, and cook until the orzo is al dente, about 12 to 16 minutes.
  6. Add the shrimp in a snug, even layer on top of the orzo, cover, and cook until all the shrimp is pink and cooked through, 2 to 4 minutes.
  7. Remove from heat and let sit, covered, 2 minutes.
  8. Sprinkle with parsley and lemon juice, season to taste with salt and pepper and serve immediately.

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

13 responses to “One-Pan Shrimp Scampi with Orzo

  1. I think I would love it too!

  2. I haven’t had orzo and shrimps in a while now and I am craving!! I love that this is a one pan dish. It looks amazingly yummy, Josette. Thanks for sharing!

  3. This looks fantastic and I am always a big fan of one pot dishes as I live alone in a very small flat (apartment) with no dishwasher! Anything with prawns (as we would call these here in the UK) is good by me.

  4. Catherine

    Made this tonight and it was fantastic!

  5. Nina Wargel

    I made the shrimp scampi with orzo last week and it was one of the best recipes I have tried in a long time. Just the right amount of lemon and garlic for an amazing dish. I can’t wait to try it again.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
One-Pot Crispy Gnocchi with Burst Tomatoes & Fresh Mozzarella
Churro Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
One-Pan Orzo with Spinach & Feta
One-Pan Shrimp Scampi with Orzo
Italian Sausage & Mushroom Ragu with Pappardelle
Ethiopian Chickpea Stew (Shiro Wat) & Stewed Collard Greens (Gomen Wat)
Samin Nosrat's Buttermilk-Brined Roast Chicken
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge