Skinny Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Chocolate Chip Bread

IMG_0684

Dave of Dave Bakes may not know this, but he convinced me that I needed a 13-inch Pullman loaf pan. 🙂 I couldn’t wait to ask for it for Christmas, so I bought one on Amazon. Yay! It is FABULOUS. I love it!! What a presentation (& shorter baking time!!). This “skinny” bread was its initiation into my kitchen! Nothing better than a surprise special weekday breakfast for the family (& excuse to use my new pan!).

This recipe was adapted from Chez Catey Lou. It was a moist, low-fat, and special autumn treat -especially with the chocolate chips.

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground allspice
  • 1/8 tsp freshly ground nutmeg
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

IMG_0676

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (convection). Grease an 8×5-inch loaf pan. (or a 13x4x4-inch Pullman loaf pan)
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, whole wheat pastry flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together sugars, oil, and eggs until very well combined. Add pumpkin and yogurt and mix well.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  5. Pour the batter evenly into the loaf pan. Bake for 39 minutes (I started checking the loaf at 35 minutes) in the Pullman pan, on convection, or up to 45 – 55 minutes in a standard pan and/or oven, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a few moist crumbs. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

IMG_0677

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

13 responses to “Skinny Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Chocolate Chip Bread

  1. Oh wonderful loaf and I think I may need one of those 13 inch pans too. I often make multiple mini loaves because baking time is less but I love the look of that skinny loaf The recipe sounds delicious.

  2. What a gorgeous loaf Josette. Absolutely delish. You happen to find the most fun and easy recipes to create and publish. Very inspiring. I like your easy to follow recipes….

  3. Oooh… And you’ve now convinced me I need one too!!

  4. Now I need one too! A beautiful loaf Josette! And perfectly seasonal 🙂

  5. Your bread is gorgeous! And I love that pan – now you are making me want to get one too!

  6. Wow, somehow I may have missed this! Yay for Pullman pans! Aren’t they great? That looks amazing!

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
One-Pot Crispy Gnocchi with Burst Tomatoes & Fresh Mozzarella
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Oven-Baked Pearl Couscous with Roasted Tomatoes, Chickpeas & Feta
Churro Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Ottolenghi's Butternut Squash Lasagna Pie
Fettuccine Alfredo with Chili Crisp & Spinach
One-Pan Orzo with Spinach & Feta
Ethiopian Chickpea Stew (Shiro Wat) & Stewed Collard Greens (Gomen Wat)
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge