Indian Butter Chicken

This dish is insanely delicious. I LOVED it!! It’s no wonder it made it onto “The 20 Most Popular Recipes of 2014” list in the New York Times. It is so flavorful and amazing that it deserves to be served to my foodie friends at the First Fiesta Friday Anniversary Party at The Novice Gardener!! (Part 2) (Such a big fiesta needs to be celebrated over 2 weeks!) Woo hoo! 🙂

I served this luxuriously saucy chicken over brown Basmati rice with roasted broccoli on the side; we ate the leftovers with sautéed spinach on the side. There was enough sauce to douse the veggies too- fabulous!! This recipe was adapted from The New York Times, contributed by Sam Sifton, adapted from Amandeep of Attica in Melbourne, Australia. I adapted the recipe by using boneless skinless chicken thighs. Dinner party worthy!

Time: 1 hour 15 minutes, plus marinating overnight

Yield: 6 to 8 servings

  • 1 ½ cups full-fat Greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 ½ tablespoons ground turmeric
  • 2 tablespoons garam masala
  • 2 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 3 pounds boneless skinless chicken thighs
  • ¼ pound unsalted butter
  • 4 teaspoons neutral oil, like vegetable or canola oil
  • 2 medium-size yellow onions, peeled and diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and minced
  • 3 tablespoons fresh ginger, peeled and grated or finely diced
  • 1 tablespoon cumin seeds
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2 medium-size tomatoes, diced
  • 2 red chiles, like Anaheim, or 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and diced
  • Kosher salt, to taste
  • ⅔ cup chicken stock
  • 1 ½ cups cream
  • 1 ½ teaspoons tomato paste
  • 3 tablespoons ground almonds, or finely chopped almonds
  • ½ bunch cilantro leaves, stems removed
  • brown Basmati rice, for serving
  1. Whisk together the yogurt, lemon juice, turmeric, garam masala and cumin in a large bowl. Put the chicken in, and coat with the marinade. Cover, and refrigerate (for up to a day).
  2. In a large pan over medium heat, melt the butter in the oil until it starts to foam. Add the onions, and cook, stirring frequently, until translucent.
  3. Add the garlic, ginger and cumin seeds, and cook until the onions start to brown.
  4. Add the cinnamon stick, tomatoes, chiles and salt, and cook until the chiles are soft, about 10 minutes.
  5. Add the chicken and marinade to the pan, and cook for 5 minutes, then add the chicken stock. Bring the mixture to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer, uncovered, for approximately 30 minutes.
  6. Stir in the cream and tomato paste, and simmer until the chicken is cooked through, approximately 10 to 15 minutes.
  7. Add the almonds, cook for an additional 5 minutes and remove from the heat. Garnish with the cilantro leaves.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Other NY Times Top 2014 Dishes on thebrookcook:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

37 responses to “Indian Butter Chicken

  1. marlapayne

    Josette, I love reading your food blog! Everything looks and sounds so incredible! I only wish you lived close enough so we could stop by for dinner!!:)

  2. Sue

    Mmmm, so glad you included the link to the NY Times recipes for 2014! This chicken looks absolutely divine, so homey and saucey and buttery! Thank you for bringing to the party!

  3. Pingback: First Fiesta Friday Anniversary (Part 2) | The Novice Gardener

  4. Josette – this looks incredible! I love that you have used thighs – so much more flavour as we have said before. This has joined my FF bookmarked recipes but at the top of the queue, along with Judi’s lasagne…I will look at that link a bit later when I’m done co-hosting but thank you so much for sharing this with us – it is a very welcome addition to the table this week. Now, pass the rice over please…

  5. I love butter chicken and this looks so delicious!

  6. this looks amazing, i am going to be there straight away to try some please x

  7. Load up my plate, please! I love, love butter chicken and your recipe looks extraordinary!!

    • Thank you, Julianna! I keep meaning to tell you that I made your Greek Red Lentil Soup- AGES ago- and LOVED it!! I’ll post it with a link maybe on my next snow day! (gave me some time to catch up & to bake!!) Happy FF!

  8. This looks wonderful, Josette! It sounds like it is seasoned to perfection… and I imagine the flavors (from the yogurt marinade to the spices) leave any lucky recipient wanting seconds or thirds. 😛 I think it’s high time I give Butter Chicken a try…I’m so glad you used the boneless, skinless thighs (they’re my favorite!). Thanks for sharing this pot of deliciousness with all of us partying at Angie’s for the Fiesta Friday Anniversary!

    • Thanks, Nancy! You are the perfect hostess!! 🙂 We have another family favorite chicken that marinates in well seasoned FULL FAT Greek yogurt overnight- it’s hard to beat the end result! 🙂 Happy FF!!

  9. This looks and sounds so delicious! I definitely want to try it soon. Thanks for sharing it!

  10. Love your description – which makes me want to try this too. 😉

  11. I have to try this, I’ve heard of this before but never had, It really does sound incredibly delicious.

  12. I would love to dive into that creamy gravy 😉

  13. Wow! I could just dive into that dish, Josette. 😀 This looks so good and I could almost smell it from here. Happy FF.

  14. Butter chicken has always been one of my favorite meals and this recipe looks exquisite! It’s on my list to make, now! 🙂

  15. Denise A

    Made this today with a side of coconut rice and it was AMAZING! I have officially reached “Rock Star” status in my home with this dish!!!! Thanks so much for sharing this delicious recipe! My message to anyone reading this is MAKE THIS NOW!!!

  16. petra08

    You had me at the headline, I knew straight away I had to save (and I will cook) this! It looks so delicious I will have to invite some friends around to share! 🙂

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,458 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

One-Pan Orzo with Spinach & Feta
Indian Butter Chickpeas
Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Oven-Baked Pearl Couscous with Roasted Tomatoes, Chickpeas & Feta
Ethiopian Chickpea Stew (Shiro Wat) & Stewed Collard Greens (Gomen Wat)
Ottolenghi's Butternut Squash Lasagna Pie
Samin Nosrat's Buttermilk-Brined Roast Chicken
Fettuccine Alfredo with Chili Crisp & Spinach
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge