Cheesy Pasta Casserole with Wild Mushrooms

This is high-class macaroni and cheese. 😉 Fancy comfort food. A delicious vegetarian main course. What’s not to love? My favorite pasta shape- orecchiette- with earthy mushrooms, salty Parmigiano Reggiano, and fabulous melted fontina cheese. Prior to incorporating the mushrooms with the pasta, they are roasted with rosemary which infuses them with amazing flavor. Delicious.

This recipe was adapted from the New York Times, contributed by Melissa Clark. I used two cloves of garlic and a combination of cremini and shiitake mushrooms. I also decreased the baking temperature to 475 degrees (because I was worried about damaging my special casserole dish). No worries- it was still brown and bubbly. 🙂

Now that spring has sprung, I thought that I may have missed my chance to post this cozy dish, but it may snow here tonight! So I suppose I’m safe. :/

Yield: Serves 6

  • 1 pound mixed wild or cultivated mushrooms, such as oyster, maitake and shiitake (I used 12 oz cremini mushrooms and 4 oz shiitake mushrooms.)
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • ½ teaspoon kosher salt, more as needed
  • ½ teaspoon black pepper, plus a few grinds
  • 2 fresh rosemary branches
  • ½ pound orecchiette, farfalle or other short pasta
  • ¾ cup heavy cream
  • ½ cup fresh ricotta
  • 5 ounces fontina cheese, grated (1 1/4 cups)
  • 2 ounces Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, grated (1/2 cup)
  • 1 teaspoon finely chopped fresh sage
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely grated (I used a garlic press.)
  1. Heat the oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Trim the mushrooms and cut into 1-inch pieces. Toss with the olive oil, the salt, a few grinds of pepper and the rosemary. Spread on a large baking sheet and roast, tossing once or twice, until golden brown and crisped around the edges, 15 to 18 minutes. Discard rosemary.
  3. Meanwhile, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the pasta and cook for at least a few minutes less than the package directs. (You want the pasta very al dente; it will finish softening in the sauce.) Drain well.
  4. Turn oven up to 475 degrees.
  5. In a large bowl, stir together the cream, ricotta, fontina, Parmesan, sage, pepper, garlic and a pinch of salt
  6. Stir in the pasta and mushrooms.
  7. Arrange in a shallow 2-quart gratin dish or 9- by 13-inch pan.
  8. Bake until cheese is melted and bubbly and browned in spots, 10 to 15 minutes.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

15 responses to “Cheesy Pasta Casserole with Wild Mushrooms

  1. This dish has won my heart! I am very much pro-cheese, mushrooms and comfort food 🙂

  2. What a great take on mac and cheese! Ugh about the snow. We’ve just had two days of 70s but it’s supposed to snow on Monday. But I’ll take the nice days when I can!

  3. Jenny Adams

    I really didn’t really need to see the photo to know that I would need to try this. The photo just sealed the deal, yummm!

  4. I am not a mac and cheese fan but this recipe includes all my favorites and simple too. Have a great week.

  5. Oh gosh Josette, this sounds incredible. I would eat this regardless of the weather!

  6. Fancy comfort food sounds like just what we need with the gloomy weather here! Looks brilliant Josette!!

  7. Pingback: 52 Ways to Make Homemade Mac & Cheese More Delicious

  8. Pingback: Cheesy Pasta Casserole with Wild Mushrooms | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Roasted Cauliflower Shawarma with Tahini Sauce
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Fettuccine Alfredo with Chili Crisp & Spinach
One-Pan Orzo with Spinach & Feta
Churro Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
Oven-Baked Pearl Couscous with Roasted Tomatoes, Chickpeas & Feta
Peruvian Stir-Fried Chicken & Noodles (Tallarín Saltado)
One-Pot Sticky Coconut Chicken & Rice
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge