Pappardelle with Mashed Peas and Pecorino

When I received the May issue of Martha Stewart Living, I earmarked every pea recipe- they all sounded so delicious!! I picked this buttery, sweet, rich, and easy dish to try first. (We also can’t eat enough pappardelle in my house!) My son declared that it was “addictive.” 🙂 It was absolutely DELICIOUS. This recipe was adapted from Martha Stewart Living.

Yield: Serves 4 to 6

  • 3 cups shelled green peas (from 3 pounds in pods), or 3 cups frozen peas, thawed
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large shallot, minced
  • 1 pound pappardelle, tagliatelle, or fettuccine
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup finely grated Pecorino Romano
  1. Blanch fresh peas in a large pot of salted boiling water until bright green and just tender, 3 to 4 minutes. Transfer to a colander with a slotted spoon. (If using frozen peas, skip this step.)
  2. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium. Add shallot and cook, stirring occasionally, until tender, about 3 minutes. Add peas and lightly mash with the back of a spoon. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Meanwhile, return pot of water to a boil and cook pasta until al dente, according to package instructions. Reserve 1 cup pasta water; drain. (I put a measuring cup in my colander so that I don’t forget to reserve the pasta water!)
  4. Add pasta to skillet and cook, tossing to coat with pea mixture. Add butter and 1/2 cup pasta water; toss to evenly coat (adding more water if necessary). Top with cheese, season with pepper, and serve.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

10 responses to “Pappardelle with Mashed Peas and Pecorino

  1. bitsofnice

    Mmmm pasta goodness!

  2. Oh this sounds super delicious. I have just this year become super obsessed with peas. Anything with peas in it is getting my vote 😉 Plus I LOVE pasta so you had me sold from the get-go!

  3. This sounds delicious, Josette! Peas and butter 😀 yum! Jet lagged after my trip back home. I’m craving for this, now (ps-it’s 5.30am) haha!

  4. Pingback: What's Cooking /// Vegetarian Summer Time Pasta - The Cottage Market

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Peruvian Stir-Fried Chicken & Noodles (Tallarín Saltado)
White Lasagna with Asparagus, Spinach & Peas
Ethiopian Chickpea Stew (Shiro Wat) & Stewed Collard Greens (Gomen Wat)
Portuguese Rolls
Oven-Baked Pearl Couscous with Roasted Tomatoes, Chickpeas & Feta
Spicy Coconut Grilled Chicken Thighs
Roasted Salmon with Lemon-Brown Butter Asparagus & Peas
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge