Duchess Baked Potatoes

Making a mashed potato dish in advance is beyond fabulous when preparing a holiday meal. This garlicky, fine-textured, “twice baked potato-esque” side dish was wonderful.

This recipe was adapted from Bon Appetit, contributed by Ann Redding and Matt Danzer. I increased the garlic and used a garlic press in lieu of grating the cloves. Great.

Yield: Serves 8

  • 4 pounds Yukon Gold potatoes
  • coarse salt
  • 5 large egg yolks
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely grated
  • 1¼ cups heavy cream
  • ¾ cup sour cream
  • 10 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon pink or black peppercorns, finely ground
  1. Place potatoes in a large pot and pour in water to cover by 2″; season with salt.
  2. Bring to a boil over medium-high. Reduce heat and simmer until a paring knife very easily slides through potatoes, 25–35 minutes. Drain and let cool slightly.
  3. Preheat oven to 425°, preferably on convection.
  4. Whisk egg yolks, garlic, cream, sour cream, butter, and peppercorns in a large bowl; season generously with salt.
  5. Peel potatoes and pass flesh through a ricer or a food mill (or mash them by hand if you don’t mind a few lumps) directly into bowl with egg mixture.
  6. Fold in gently, being careful not to overmix.
  7. Transfer to a 3-quart baking dish and decoratively shingle or swirl surface.
  8. Bake, rotating once, until golden brown and slightly puffed, 30–40 minutes.

Note: Dish can be assembled 1 day ahead. Cover and chill. Increase bake time by 5–10 minutes.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

7 responses to “Duchess Baked Potatoes

  1. Yukon Golds make the most lovely potato dishes. Gorgeous presentation!

  2. What a beautiful potato dish! I’m saving this one and hope to try it soon. Happy Holidays Josette!

  3. Love these! I never thought to do them in a pan! Perfect!!
    mollie

    • I had never tried this dish before- It really is an elegant version of twice-baked potatoes. 🙂

      • I made them piped once when I was very young and I remember thinking how difficult it was…I’m sure it wasn’t really, but I think it was probably the first time I followed a “recipe” for potatoes and the first time I ever piped anything, lol!! Now I’d take it more in stride, but still love the idea of the casserole version!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 931 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
