Chilled Corn Soup with Tomato-Bacon Toasts

This is a bowl of fresh and creamy heaven. Easy to prepare too. I topped it with a splash of color from my absolute summer favorite, basil. The toasts made it a filling meal as well.

This recipe was adapted from Martha Stewart Living. We ate it slightly chilled instead of cold because we enjoyed it on a cool and rainy summer night. My husband gobbled up the chilled leftovers and would recommend this soup served cold as well. 🙂 I think it would also be delicious served warm!

Yield: Serves 4 to 5

  • 4 slices bacon (about 6 ounces)
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped (about 1 cup)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 1/2 cups fresh corn kernels (from 6 ears of corn)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 4 to 8 slices crusty bread (I used a sourdough baguette)
  • 4 ounces manchego or other hard, sharp cheese, thinly sliced
  • 2 medium tomatoes, sliced into 1/4-inch rounds (I halved them again to fit on my bread slices)
  • extra-virgin olive oil, for drizzling
  • basil, chiffonade, for serving
  1. In a large straight-sided skillet, cook bacon over medium heat, turning once, until crisp, 8 minutes. Transfer to paper towels.
  2. Add onion, garlic, and a pinch of salt to skillet; cook stirring, 8 minutes.
  3. Stir in 4 cups corn, then 2 cups water; season with salt and pepper.
  4. Bring to a simmer; cook, stirring occasionally, until corn is tender and most of liquid has evaporated, about 15 to 20 minutes.
  5. Transfer to a large bowl, stir in 1 1/2 cups ice water and the sour cream.
  6. Blend mixture with an immersion blender, or in a blender (in two batches, if necessary), until smooth.
  7. Refrigerate, stirring occasionally, until cold, about 45 minutes. (I skipped this step and served it slightly chilled.)
  8. While the soup is chilling, season the tomato slices with salt and pepper. Toast the bread slices.
  9. Top the bread with cheese slices, tomatoes, and bacon.
  10. Ladle soup into bowls. Garnish with remaining 1/2 cup corn kernels, more pepper, drizzles of oil, and basil, as desired.

I’m sharing my summer soup at Angie’s Fiesta Friday #181 this week co-hosted by CH @Cooking From My Heart and Nimmi @Adorable Life. Angie featured my post from last week’s Fiesta- Yay! Check it out! 🙂

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

Four Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

18 responses to “Chilled Corn Soup with Tomato-Bacon Toasts

  1. This looks delicious.I will have to give it a try 😋 You and your readers may enjoy this corn dish as well

    3 Bs: Bisque , Business and Backyard

  2. What a great soup with all the fantastic summer corn coming in!

  3. A fantastic soup! I might prefer it warm, but especially with the sour cream, I can see how it’s good cold as well.

  4. I’d love to make this for dinner this week and am curious about your thoughts on substituting something instead of the sour cream?

  5. Gosh! How creamy and delicious is this corn soup – totally loving this 🙂 Thanks for bringing this to FF!

  6. Summer in a bowl. I’m sure that’s delicious hot, warm or cold.

  7. I love the idea of this!! It’s such a fun recipe and anything cool on a hot summer day…

  8. Sounds heavenly! Beautiful combination of flavours! Nice share Josette.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Italian Sausage & Mushroom Ragu with Pappardelle
Ottolenghi's Butternut Squash Lasagna Pie
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Ravneet Gill's Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies
Roasted Cauliflower Shawarma with Tahini Sauce
One-Pan Orzo with Spinach & Feta
Oven-Baked Pearl Couscous with Roasted Tomatoes, Chickpeas & Feta
Samin Nosrat's Buttermilk-Brined Roast Chicken
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge