Crumb Cake Muffin Tops

I have another special summer breakfast recipe to share- although I’m sure I’ll be making these year-round. 🙂 I have to make sure that I put my Mother’s Day muffin top pan to good use!

Everyone in my house absolutely loves crumb cake. The genius of making crumb cake in a muffin top form is portion control (which we need!) as well as a reduced baking time. This recipe was slightly adapted from Serious Eats.com; I incorporated whole wheat flour. This recipe would also work in a standard muffin pan, of course. Fabulous!

Yield: 12 muffin tops

For the Cake:

  • 1/2 cup (3 1/2 ounces) granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used 1 percent milk)
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda

For the Crumb Topping:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 2/3 cup (4 2/3 ounces) packed light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 10 tablespoons (5 ounces) unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting, optional

To Make the Cake:

  1. Adjust rack to middle position and preheat oven to 350°F, preferably on convection. Grease muffin top pan with cooking oil spray.
  2. Whisk sugar, salt, melted butter, and oil in a large bowl.
  3. Whisk in egg, milk, sour cream, and vanilla.
  4. Stir flour, baking powder, and baking soda in a small bowl.
  5. Whisk into wet mixture until just combined.

To Make the Crumb Topping:

  1. Whisk flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl until combined.
  2. Add melted butter and vanilla, and toss with fingers until the mixture forms moist crumbs.
  3. Spoon 2 tablespoons batter into each cup and spread evenly.
  4. Sprinkle with crumb mixture.
  5. Bake until light golden and cakes are just firm, about 15 minutes.
  6. Let cakes cool in pan 5 minutes, then transfer to wire rack to cool.
  7. Dust with Confectioners’ sugar, as desired.

One Year Ago:

Two Years Ago:

Three Years Ago:

Four Years Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

18 responses to “Crumb Cake Muffin Tops

  1. The crumb part is always the best part and it looks like making a crumb cake in a muffin pan delivers the best part in spades! Yum.

    Johanne Lamarche

    >

  2. These look delicious! I love that crumb topping, they would pair perfectly with my coffee in the morning 😉

  3. Looks delicious and I’d love to eat this. Yum!

  4. Josette, this look to die for! I still have not gotten that Muffin Top pan!! Now I’m really going to need one!

  5. I just LOVE crumb cake and these look fantastic! I can’t wait to try them!

  6. Brooklyn's Corner

    I’m also sure I’ll be making this all year. Welcome aboard 😁.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,459 other subscribers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Mexican Sweet Corn Cake (Pan de Elote)
Italian Sausage & Mushroom Ragu with Pappardelle
Banana Bread with Crunchy Sugar Topping
Vietnamese-American Garlic Noodles
Chez Panisse's Blueberry Cobbler
Ina Garten's Vanilla Bean Brioche Bread Pudding
Fettuccine Alfredo with Chili Crisp & Spinach
Ethiopian Chickpea Stew (Shiro Wat) & Stewed Collard Greens (Gomen Wat)
Churro Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
Ottolenghi's Butternut Squash Lasagna Pie
Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge