Whole Wheat Spicy Herb and Garlic Bread Loaf

IMG_8633

I initially made this bread to serve with a simple pasta dish, but thankfully we had leftovers the next day to use to make delicious gruyere grilled cheese. πŸ™‚ This loaf is my first entry in the Fiesta Friday Challenge #1 at The Novice Gardener:Β posting a dish using both yeast and herbs. Was it cheating (or exceptionally clever?) to use a bread machine? πŸ™‚

This recipe was adapted from Scientifically Sweet, via Foodgawker. I modified the recipe to make it more garlicky and less spicy. I also adapted it to bake in a bread machine, used a combination of whole wheat and bread flours, and added olive-oil to the dough. Easy & tasty!

Yield: One 1 1/2 pound loaf

  • 1 Β½ cups tepid water, no hotter than 110 degrees F
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil for the dough, and 1 tsp extra-virgin olive oil for brushing the top of the loaf
  • Β½ tsp sugar
  • 2 Β½ tsp instant dry yeast
  • 6 oz white whole wheat flour
  • 10 ozΒ bread flour
  • 1 tsp coarse salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried red chili pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • Β½ tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • coarse salt, for sprinkling, to taste, optional
  1. Measure all ingredients into bread machine pan in the order suggested by manufacturer. (My machine suggests to place all liquid ingredients in the base of the pan, followed by the dry ingredients, and finally to place the yeast in a well on top of the dry ingredients before processing.)
  2. Process on whole wheat bread cycle; use medium/normal crust color setting.
  3. 30 minutes before the end of baking, brush the top of the loaf with remaining 1 teaspoon olive oil and sprinkle with coarse salt.
  4. Remove bread from pan; cool on wire rack.

IMG_8660

”Fiesta Friday Challenge #1"

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

22 responses to “Whole Wheat Spicy Herb and Garlic Bread Loaf

  1. Looks fabulous – love a hearty bread anyday the garlic and the spices must have made it so tasty!

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday Challenge #1 | The Novice Gardener

  3. yum, yum! the loaf looks appetizing! how long does the bread maker take, the overall time? sounds so simple! πŸ™‚

  4. Very nice looking bread πŸ™‚ And no, it is not cheating to use a bread machine… I used my KitchenAid’s kneading hook and technology is fine with me πŸ™‚

  5. Oh wow, the flavour of the garlic has to be amazing in the bread!

  6. This sounds like a delicious bread. All the beautiful herbs must have tasted divine.

  7. I love the garlic flavor in any bread – more would never be too much for me. Red pepper flakes – I like a touch of heat too in a subtle way πŸ™‚

    • I did really decrease the amount of red pepper flakes from the original recipe- mostly because my kids would have objected! On the other hand, they love garlic, so I tripled the amount! πŸ™‚

  8. Do you know I have a bread maker that I’ve never used? Yah, I know! When you said easy and tasty, I knew I had to bookmark this. I seem to be bookmarking all your recipes, lol.

  9. angenette

    This sandwich bread looks amazingly light, especially for a whole wheat bread — I still need to get working on my challenge post. I’ve got a few ideas in my head, but better buckle down. Thanks for motivating me πŸ™‚

  10. Oh my goodness, this looks and sounds extraordinary!! I want to make my sandwiches with this…mmm grilled cheese sandwiches?? Yes!! Awesome entry to the challenge! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! My husband and son ate slice after slice when I served it for dinner…. I started getting worried about my grilled cheese plans! πŸ™‚ It worked out for everyone though! πŸ™‚

  11. I am amazed that you’re submitting more than one entry! I wish I could do the same but having one entry that involves yeast really had my knees shaking! Haha!

    This looks so delicious! Great entry for the challenge! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,023 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
