Seared Pork Chops with Garlic Scape Chimichurri

IMG_9155

My weekly farm share is such a pleasure in my life. Everything is so beautiful and fresh. I love it! This time of year we receive garlic scapes- the curled flower top of a hardneck garlic plant. They have a more mild garlic flavor than the cloves- so seasonal, special, and delicious!

In the past, I have used garlic scapes in pesto, finely chopped and mixed into mashed red potatoes, and finely chopped into salads. This dish- by far- is my favorite application. I originally made this dish a few years ago and had been unable to relocate the recipe; this year I devoted a chunk of time to dig around for it. So happy to have it back in my life! 🙂

This recipe was adapted from the New York Times, contributed by Melissa Clark. The original sauce recipe uses green garlic- immature garlic which is pulled when growers are thinning crops. Green Garlic has more mild flavor than the cloves as well, but stronger flavor than garlic scapes.  I included the amount suggested for both in the recipe below. I’m a little late but I’m bringing this amazing dish to the party – FF#22!! Great!

IMG_9132

  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 3 tablespoons chopped mint, optional (I substituted 2 additional tablespoons of chopped chives)
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped garlic chives or regular chives
  • 4 to 6 thinly sliced garlic scapes or 2 tablespoons finely chopped green garlic
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt, more to taste
  • 1/8 teaspoon chile flakes
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 5 one-inch thick center cut boneless pork loin chops
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste

1.
Combine the herbs, garlic scapes (or green garlic), lemon juice, 1 teaspoon salt, and chile flakes. Stir in 1/2 cup oil. (I used a mini-food processor.)
2.
Season the meat with salt and pepper. Heat a large skillet over high heat. Add the remaining tablespoon of oil and reduce heat to medium-high. Add the pork and cook without moving, 3 to 5 minutes. Flip and cook until meat is just cooked through, about 3 minutes more (to 140 degrees). Let rest 5 minutes before serving, topped with chimichurri.

One Year Ago:

About Josette@thebrookcook

I live in Stony Brook, New York on Long Island. I love garlic and baking. My hobby (and love) is to try new recipes. My favorite recipe resources include The New York Times, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, and Martha Stewart Living. Enjoy!

22 responses to “Seared Pork Chops with Garlic Scape Chimichurri

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #22 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Welcome to Fiesta Friday Josette! What a perfect recipe to bring to our table this week! It looks so delicious.. something that I know my family would love too! I love my weekly CSA too…the anticipation to go through the box is just too much fun! This week, I even got 1/2 dozen fresh baked biscuits! I mean…who does that?? Lol.. Love it. I’m printing this recipe, I know that it’s going to be one of those “go to” recipes that I use a lot. Thank you so much for sharing this with us! ❤

  3. nancycrenault

    Yum. Suggestion: put it on your menu for the August get together.
    Mom

  4. My scapes are getting picked this am 😀 I wasn’t sure what I was going to make, however this looks wonderful!

  5. Unfortunately I do not have any garlic scapes – I wonder if my Farmer’s Market had any. Oh well, maybe on Wed. 🙂

  6. I love Melissa Clark recipes, and like your adaptation here. This dish looks great, Josette!

  7. This dish looks lovely Josette. Love the different combination of herbs here. I have never used garlic scapes before actually. Looks like I am missing out on something great!

  8. Oh what a wonderful way to prepare chops. Pork was reserved for roasts when i was little: no prok chops for us. Definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing.

  9. Love this recipe Josette! Very original!

  10. It looks delicious! We eat a lot of the small potatoes all the time especially this time of year when they are in season. 🙂

    Did you see my post on making an Ooey Gooey Carmel Pie!
    Michael
    http://michaelswoodcraft.wordpress.com/2014/06/29/ooey-gooey/

  11. I adore garlic scapes. Thank you for the inspiration!

  12. Pingback: Homegrown Garlic Scapes, Broccoli and Tilapia | Midwestern Plants

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 958 other followers

Recipe Categories

my foodgawker gallery
my photos on tastespotting

Top Posts & Pages

Foodista Food Blog of the Day Badge
